Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Neon Abyss

by rsf-krx - Jam Entry

THEME: Growing / Two Button Controls

OBJECTIVE:
Get as far down the abyss as possible!

HOW TO PLAY:
Grow or shrink the player to either reduce or increase force. You will need to have enough force to break the platform (40% of the width). If you don't, you will splat and die. Also, if you have enough force to break the platform, but not cleanly (60% of the width), you will cause the platform to splinter, which will damage you.

CONTROLS:
- Up/Down arrows to grow/shrink
- Up/Down/Enter to navigate menus

Created by RedSoxFan and krx

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#194Audio(Jam)3.59
#200Theme(Jam)4.04
#226Innovation(Jam)3.54
#239Fun(Jam)3.52
#362Overall(Jam)3.48
#394Graphics(Jam)3.67
#411Mood(Jam)3.33
#712Humor(Jam)2.28

Comments

Eingya says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:41am

Really enjoying this. Nice music, cool concept and visually enjoyable!

Well Done!

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:04am

Great graphics, very nice to watch. Good job :)

Andy Gainey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:19am

Solid foundation, but I think what I felt was missing the most was additional "juiciness" to make the experience more exciting as I got really close to 100%, or to make the experience more informative when I got too far below 100%. What you had looked really good, but I found myself watching the barriers explode, and since they exploded the same way every time, I had a harder time distinguishing how well or poorly I was doing beyond splintering or not.

The Vall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:39am

Awesome graphics and audio.

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:37am

Had to dive into the code to confirm a suspicion - Limiting each platform's size based on the previous platform's size was a clever addition. Keeps platforms from drastically varying or being completely impossible to switch between.

ElliotFiske says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:14am

Nice job! I liked the music, and the mechanic was interesting to play around with.

It would have been cool to see a little more "juice," like Andy said, and it would feel a little more "fair" if the player didn't die in 1 hit from hitting something wrong.

Overall, good game!

Ryusui says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:10am

Beautiful. A little shallow, but addicting. :3

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:51pm

57.1km !

Simple yet effective game :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:27am

Don't have much to say other than what has already been said. However, I found the music to be a bit jarring. It's not bad once you get used to it, but it felt like my ears almost burst out of my head when I opened the game.

parias001 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Awesome game! I enjoyed it a lot!

Mantlair says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Nice visuals! And good music. Concept is simple but fits the theme so well done!

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:12pm

I like the use of more force = more mass

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Pretty nice game! very neat graphics too. i made it 30.8 km

pkenney says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Loved the graphical stylings on this one! Also the novel mechanics, I haven't seen something quite like that before.

I died a lot though and wasn't a fan of having to go back through the main menu. I would have preferred an instant restart option. I am glad you didn't restart the music from the top on restart though, that was a good choice!

Nice work guys, look, sound, and feel all there... and you hit the double-theme nicely.

rsf-krx says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:16am

Thanks everyone for the feedback. Sorry for the delayed responses. It was finals week for both krx and myself.

@Andy Gainey, the only objective is to stay alive as long as possible. The distance is the only scoring aspect. If you wanted to, you could try to do it without splintering, but unless the splintering is the cause of death, it isn't that bad.

@ElliotFiske, the dying is just part of the game design. We do have the splintering aspect so you do have some margin of error.

@The Tophat Demon, sorry. I know the audio isn't for everyone, but we felt it fit with the game. If you go into settings, you can disable the audio (unfortunately, settings only last until you close the game).

@pkenney, I didn't even think of an instant restart option. But just in case you didn't know, the main menu does respond to the keyboard, so if you are on the death screen, you would just need to press enter twice.

- RedSoxFan

AdamsMcCall says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Nice concept, nice game, really close to the theme. Im not a big fan of the dubstep music though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]