Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Bryan

by LikeAstudio - Jam Entry

Bryan was sleeping, sleeping so well that he started dreaming about a world, but not a normal world, a wonderful beautiful powerful world full with adventures,
enemies and his cute little bear, enjoy this adventure with Brian and we sorry for bugs, we wanted to do a lot more but we couldn't. This is our first oficial big
game jam together and we designed a way too big a scope for our game. In the end
we didn't have time to finish it like we wanted. :c We hope you still enjoy!

INSTRUCTIONS :
WASD : Move
Mouse Aim.
Right Click : Shoot.
F : Eat Candy.
B : Buy Item.

Enter wardrobes to progress.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#323Graphics(Jam)3.78
#615Audio(Jam)2.71
#755Humor(Jam)2.15
#800Mood(Jam)2.78
#935Fun(Jam)2.58
#961Innovation(Jam)2.33
#976Overall(Jam)2.72
#1099Theme(Jam)1.87

Comments

jaytechmedia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:12am

Sup. Im the programmer.

Sorry for the mess. Turns out I overestimated the amount we had to do.

Looks like I have a lot to learn...And I will certainly be coming back again, better than before.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:56am

Nice graphics guys and good start! :)

SamH says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:57pm

The artwork is pretty nice. Even though you didn’t finish the project, the quality is already showing.

Hard to understand how it relates to the theme, though. Is it about growing up?

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Very nice art, next will be even better!

donvermo says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:11pm

The graphics are definetely nice! Apart from that however I did not really enjoyed it :(.

The gameplay was exactly like similar games in the genre, yet the feel of the combat was missing, this due to missing sounds, effects, combat information.

Visual enemy variation was very good, this however did not translate in meaningful gameplay variation.

Overal as you indicated it feels unfinished, the art directions is definetely good, the other 'game' aspects could use some big improvements

TheWzzard says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:28pm

looks like the kid is doing this the whole time
http://1.mshcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/03/Jackson-4.jpg

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Nice start. Not sure what it has to do with the theme. Ended up with two copies of Bryan in his bedroom. Feedback when you hit the enemies would be nice.

Gjarble says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Yeah, time management is always the hard part for me too. Trust me, it'll get better with practice.

I like the art style, though I would like to point out that the player character appears to be drawn in a different perspective from that of the enemies and environments. If we saw a bit of the front of the character, like we do for the enemies, it'd look a bit more natural. I do understand that that can be harder to animate, though.

camlang says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:45pm

This graphics very cool!!!! Nice job

terryg says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 3:21am

This is a great start especially for such a short amount of time. I liked the graphics and the world you are creating.

aplomb says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:10am

Slick graphics! The gameplay needs a lot of polish, but it is a solid start.

Deal With It says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:29am

cool graphics and music, but as SamH says, it's hard to understand how it relates to the theme

themadknights says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:41am

Nice start guys! The game looks good but I think it needs some feedback whenever you hit an enemy or an enemy hits you! :)

Piscythe says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Really sweet art, but the gameplay felt odd and incomplete. I don't understand why RMB is the attack button when LMB does nothing. The real problems was when I reached the boss, and we were evidently unable to damage each other. The boss music was cool at first, but then it faded away and I just found myself hammering away at a seemingly-invulnerable tree-bear with no health bar and easy-to-dodge attacks that didn't actually damage me.

Starspell says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 4:49pm

I think this game was very ambitious for the time limit but you did achieve a lot. I like the graphical style although there are a couple of problems. For example the spinning of the character looks unnatural and the trees and some other objects aren't layered correctly. However the character animation and the particle effects are lovely.
The controls are a little weird too, probably should be left mouse click to fire instead of right as there's nothing on the left mouse button yet.
Overall great job. Maybe next time write down everything you want to do and then really make sure you can handle them all (or put a bunch of them in a "nice to have but could be cut pile).

Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Good start. You know you were overambitious, but you'll do better next time. Something for the left mouse button to do would have been nice. Also, some indication of where the fridge (or whatever that was) was at the end of the level to teleport you would have been helpful.

Still a great start, though.

Strike says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:17pm

It looks like you hard coded inputs instead of using Unity input system. Therefore in cannot rebind keys using the configuration window at start. On an azerty keyboard it's not possible to play properly and I am not going to install qwerty support just for this game. Too bad, it looked quite good and promising.

LikeAstudio says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Thank you guys for all the nice feedback! We are very happy that you did enjoy it way more than we expected!

We'll be answering some questions and feedbacks here :

@SamH , "Hard to understand how it relates to the theme, though. Is it about growing up?"

Answer : The idea was that the size of each room would be growing each level. But well... I guess it wasn't well shown to the player.


@themadknights , "I think it needs some feedback whenever you hit an enemy or an enemy hits you!"

Answer : They were going to have, but we didn't have time to include :c. we submitted in the last 20 seconds...


@Piscythe , "I don't understand why RMB is the attack button when LMB does nothing"

Answer : The initial design had a sword on the left hand/mouse button and a teddy bear wich should act as a staff on the right hand. Each of those would be equippable. In the end we had no other option other than to dish the sword and the different teddy bears, we made 3 different swords with 5 different textures each, same for the bear :c It's quite sad that the world is never going to be seeing it.


@everyone , "The game has nice graphics :)"

Answer : Since this game didn't finish in time, and to finish it completely would require us a lot of work and time that we don't have since we are busy with bigger and more promising projects, we decided to realease the art as an asset pack in the unity asset store. If you actually liked the artstyle and would like to use it on your own project, we will be releasing it shortly :)


Thanks everyone who played and especially the ones who gave such awsome feedback, participating in the ludum dare has been exausting, but it had so much value to us that we are happy we did participate, great experience. Thank you all!

refreshgames says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:24am

Hey, congratulations on making a game in a small amount of time, even if you over-estimated the amount of time available to you, there is still a reasonably playable game here, which is a good base to work from.

I hope you refine the game post-compo between yourselves as, with more time and polish, this could be something rather nice.

Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:19am

i attacked everything and got to a floating tree that can't kill me and i can't kill it. the store was, and the candy was, and i was the opposite. I fought with fire and ice. I defeated all who opposed me. Nice landscape colorz. the guy that threw balls at you was neat. teh tree guy was superb. gj everything else looks like the deadline cut out!

loxo says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:13am

Great graphics and I can image how great the game would be if you would have finished it, but at the moment I'm not really sure how to play the game. I was jumping back and forth between Bryans room and some place outside. It's unclear to me when those jumps occur. After a few jumps Bryan had cloned himself several times, I had at least 6 copies of him when I stopped the game. In the beginning I could shoot and destroy enemies, but that stopped after a while too. And the controls seem a bit weird to me, because I would expect Bryan to move in the direction he faces. Without those bugs the game could be really fun to play. Nonetheless a good start, I hope you will work further on this game, because it has a lot of potential.

Tselmek says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 2:18pm

I love the concept and the graphics are very qualitative. The mish-mash of perspectives made the immersion almost impossible. The enemies' attacks need a little more balance. Overall, it's a very nice game but it needs a little more consistency, especially with the perspectives.

Yvanor says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 2:18pm

Like you said, we can see all the great ideas, so bad you haven't the time.. the game is quite buggy, we are launched into the game without more explanations and we don't really fell when the enemy is hit. So bad, it could be a great game ^^ Well-tried anyway ^^

Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:16am

It was funny when I got bug with two Bryans. One Bryan was used for camera centering and other Bryan was able to shoot. It sounds like an idea for interesting puzzle mechanics.

Farelle says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:09pm

I did not really understand how to access the store, since pressing B or F wasn't doing anything and I wasn't seeing any kinds of candies either. (did I not get far enough?) Also, I noticed after some time the black bar at the bottom and was wondering what it is about, then I noticed it's the healthbar since it only moved when enemies came too close, but thought it's not really visible against darkish background and not really intuitive that my life is black O.o

hyperscope says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:37am

Looping sound effects like the footsteps in your game can get very annoying very fast. It would have been nice to have more player feedback on shooting and hitting enemies. My biggest issue was the jarring transitions when entering wardrobes.

Having said that I'd be interested to see a post jam build as this game initially drew me in with the art style just that the programming side could use some more time.

Keep at it though as a first jam I can only see better things from y'all from future jams.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]