Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

War...

by Lapiroxx - Jam Entry

A game About war and choice, sad choice...
Make a decision using left and right arrow key
try not to have too many soldier or you army will fall under it's own weight

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#696Innovation(Jam)2.87
#824Humor(Jam)1.89
#863Theme(Jam)3.17
#989Graphics(Jam)2.13
#1085Overall(Jam)2.42
#1090Fun(Jam)1.74
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

bodsey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:43am

Got a bunch of errors when I tried to start the game :/ Is there something else to install ?

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:46am

It did not happen to run

Lapiroxx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:47am

Hey, I am sorry you had issues, what kind of errors were they?

CremaGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Can't play it, got a bunch of error windows when I tried to start it :S

ashish says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Got missing dll files errors, I've windows 10.

TeamEagle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:07pm

\Same, missing files dll error :( windows 10

Dege says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Hi, can't open.
Error says is miss msvcp140d.dll

krashja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Its happening to me too, .dll problems.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Same as everyone else, missing DLL errors. Think it has something to do with Visual C++ runtime but I have the latest version of that installed.

nosfer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:41pm

also missing dll files, please check out if you are building release or debug version, the latter one will not work without whole Visual Studio or downloading dll from third party sites (and those can contain viruses).

issa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Missing some dlls apparently.

daleth90 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Cannot run even I get the MSVCP140D.dll

HongerTrollie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:37am

Also had a missing dll file error... "The program can't start because MSVCP140D.dll is missing from your computer... " I have windows 7

Lapiroxx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:43pm

There is some dll issue on window, we are fixing it

Lapiroxx says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:08am

Issues should be fixed now, sorry for the inconvenience!

beetracks says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:32am

Nice ideas here, but the gameplay wasn't clear to me. I think it could have some sound effects too. Not that loud, but for a better ambience, maybe. (I see a lot had issues and I can confirm it were fixed. At least I didn't have any trouble running the game).

Budi says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Well, I don't know what to say. I really like the thought of this game - war is bad even if you on the winners' side.

Is this entry even game? Again I don't know.

I really want to thank you for this entry, it's really different and really deep. The scoring wasn't easy for me, I really like its music, mood and theme, but in overall it's just not a game.

Just... well done!

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:48am

Man... This was a depressing experience =/
Even though I could not see what/how my actions were affecting the game. I was relieved when I could stop the war. Congrats.

Masuno says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:47am

This is a no-win game with a stronger message and darker mood than most games I've ever played. And this was made within 72 hours.

I love it.

alyphen says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:52am

There's a fair amount of options, each having visible effects, but this feels like a case where the meaning has eclipsed the gameplay of the game.
Things I liked:
- The choice of music created an atmosphere with the soldiers falling that could not have been done with the animations alone. It feels a lot more serious.
- There are a large amount of choices, but only two at any one time, forcing a preference each time.
- The concept is fairly well thought-out.
Things that I think could be improved:
- Add some sort of achievable "goal"
- Add some sound effects
- Use a font that's clearer for the smaller messages and/or make the text bigger
- Make it more obvious what the repurcussions of each choice are.
- Add some sort of progress measurement, like a graph of the size of your army over time.

Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:19am

Interesting experience. On the one hand, I'm not sure if any of my actions had an effect. Maybe that's the point though?

Loneshark says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:22am

War? What is it good for?
Absolutely Nothing.

I feel like if you had more time this could have turned into something a lot more emotional. It was just a bit too short and a bit too fast paced to really let the gravity of it all sink in and develop.

Karatorian says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:09am

It locks up whenever I get to conflict level 3.

adrian09_01 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Innovative, but very ugly sprites and poor use of the theme.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:09pm

I thought the idea was nice, although I did find that the lack of a goal made the effort seem futile. Great mood though, very depressing.

Joror says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:08am

Growth as a theme for humanity?
I like the underlying feeling, and the music does a lot of work.
Would have liked a little more interaction / things in the main screen happening (if only to make the point more poignant)

michidk says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:08pm

... errors

ashdnazg says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:48am

I was very confused in this game (still not sure if I was playing the right side or the left one).
While the mood etc. is really unique, I feel there could be more feedback to the player as to how their choices affect the game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]