Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Testing Lab xy

by kerneltt - Jam Entry

2 action:
-change direction
-move

recollect all the chips
avoid the bullets

...Good luck...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#777Theme(Jam)3.34
#785Innovation(Jam)2.72
#971Mood(Jam)2.30
#1001Overall(Jam)2.69
#1003Fun(Jam)2.38

Comments

ohmmus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Great use of the two button controls! First I've seen where one of the buttons changes your direction. That turret is mean, but not impossible since it's predictable. Great job on this entry!

elliottd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:01pm

The asymmetric controls (harder to turn counter-clockwise) don't go well with the pressure of dodging bullets. I think it would have been a little better to frame it as more of a decision and move system. good work

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Couldn't beat the third level, can't escape the turret fast enough.

Newan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Good work but not very easy to understand the mechanics.

MrDave says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Nice game, you implemented the idea well.

daveh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Got stuck on the third level. I think you have to use the collectables as a shield to get close enough to escape? It can be quite exhilarating when you just narrowly duck behind a corner. I enjoyed it but would have preferred to be able to adjust the direction both clockwise and counter-clockwise, even though that would make it three buttons I guess.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:00pm

It would be nice if the gun had an indication of how close it is to firing. Controls are a little cumbersome. Granted, you were working with restrictions ;)

argowen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:42am

That turret is fast just about got through first level lol

JeffCODEblum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:46am

Not bad. This game provided a little bit of a fun challenge. The bullets move very fast. Keep developing!

kerneltt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:49am

thanks for all the feedback i will work on making this a better game =^w^=

danidre14 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Nice little hard game! xD

HARD!!! xD

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:43am

Nice using of the theme! Fun game! Congrats.

dmecke says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:07pm

I like the general idea, but the controls feel a bit too much "I needed to do this because its the theme". Apart from that I think this game could be easily improved to be a lot of fun, well done!

Big Cow says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:54am

This was really hard! I like that the direction is indicated with the light and I liked the way the box moves smoothly but I could barely see the bullet and kept getting hit. I like the simple and addictive gameplay. Well done!

Wakefield says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:58am

The controls are weird at first attempt but after a few try things goes smoother. Fun concept but kinda slow.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]