Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Don't Let Your Cat Starve

by TeamQuiet - Jam Entry

Press Z and a direction to eat things, X and a direction to spit them out.
Eat some grass seeds to spit out grass.
Grow grass to feed cows.
Grow cows to feed your cats.
Keep at least one cat alive or you lose the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#229Humor(Jam)3.25
#637Innovation(Jam)2.96
#879Fun(Jam)2.67
#904Theme(Jam)3.08
#934Mood(Jam)2.45
#983Overall(Jam)2.71
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

benjammin1391 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:15am

Feed cats cows, makes perfect sense! Controsl take some getting used to, but overall pretty cool!

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:17am

Interesting little game, love the minimalist angle. Nice idea :)

Fathom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:56am

My cat does in fact enjoy eating entire cows, thank you for making a game that shares the truth of cats with the world.

muffty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:24pm

This is so much fun! I really try to figure out how to do best :D

Catblocker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:16pm

I'm very confused :I

Andy Gainey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Tough. Very intriguing dynamics that I think could lead to interesting gameplay and player choices, but I didn't feel like I had enough time or effective control to really experiment much before I lost and had to start over. A gentler learning curve in the early stages could have had a dramatic effect on my experience.

Technical note that affected gameplay: I eventually got in the habit of jumping to the top of the hill when it was clear I was going to lose. Since the game doesn't reset the player's location when it restarts, that's a notable advantage, being able to grab the seeds immediately rather than laboriously hop up the hill.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:24pm

This game is pretty simple on first look. But it's really hard to keep harmony in this world of cats, cows and grass. I handled it building and removing a wall between cats and cows time to time. Unfortunately, on Linux under Wine game sometimes behaves unstable.

Dreyan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:33am

Took me a few minutes, but the game finally stopped being confusing. Interesting idea, rather amusing.

wuppy29 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:11am

I managed to get stuck in the terrain within a minute :(

AdamsMcCall says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:29pm

I didn't understand what I was supposed to do at first. And somehow my cats eat all the cows. I don't really know what to do when I don't have cows anymore.

kanatohodets says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Hmm, I must be missing something relative to the other reviewers, but I couldn't quite figure things out. I plant the seeds, and eventually they turn into more seeds...I plant those..and by the time they're heading to seed my cats have starved. I don't see any cows :(

Farelle says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 9:05am

hehe that was funny :) I don't really understand why they are starting out on a pyramid and why both are coming from eggs XD as mammals. I liked that they were bouncing so much though :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]