Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

From Seed to Snow

by Kitfox - Jam Entry

:: Theme Grow ::

Grow a tree any way you like!

You feel time's flow
you grow and grow
yet you know

Winter is coming.

:: Programming ::
Jongwoo Kim (jwkim88.itch.io)
Marcelo Perez

:: Art, assets & UI ::
Xin Ran Liu (artstation.com/artist/xinranliu)
Sora Park (itshiddenowl.tumblr.com)

:: Music and SFX ::
François-Xavier Bilodeau (fxmusique.ca)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#17Audio(Jam)4.33
#26Mood(Jam)4.27
#27Overall(Jam)4.19
#39Graphics(Jam)4.57
#46Theme(Jam)4.31
#53Innovation(Jam)3.96
#129Fun(Jam)3.71
#426Humor(Jam)2.79

Comments

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:24am

This was a very calming and a beautiful game to play, I love how it took you through the different seasons. I absolutely love the art style it kinda reminds me of Tearaway with the paper art style.

middenkwaaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:49am

Nice game!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:53am

I loved the art and sound. Not so sure I could figure out the game part though.

simoroshka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:55am

This is so beautiful! It is my favorite game here so far. Absolutely awesome.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:59am

Wow this was beautiful! The art style is amazing, the idea is clever and fun, the music is super relaxing, the entire game is very relaxing actually.

Awesome job guys!

Catblocker says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:50am

Very beautiful game with calming gameplay.

Henez says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:00am

Beautiful visuals and sound. Although the game play is beyond me. I've played it a few times now and I still don't really understand.

David Cookie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Beautiful and relaxing! Didn't really understand how to control water level, my plant died :/
Otherwise it's excellent! One of the best I've played so far :)

sergicollado says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Simply perfect,
thanks for your game :)

Taldius says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Nice game, I loved the concept and it fits the theme really well. The graphics look very good too.

The only problem was when I cut a part of my tree, it didn't grow back.

Anyway good job!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Very beautiful and calm game ! Nice graphics and audio too :

BroCade says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Gorgeous!

nelskj says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Nice game! Beautiful and relaxing, matches perfectly the theme.

sonelliot says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:35am

I think this game has the best atmosphere of the ones I've played so far. Very calming. The whole thing just feels very polished and artful. Amazing work! :)

Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:51am

Most beautiful and polished game that I have seen so far! I loved the art and peacefulness of the seasons.

Lythom says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:55am

Beautiful and very relaxing game. Loved graphics and music.
It perfectly fits the theme but it was exactly the type of game I expected to see so I don't find it much creative. Altouth it's a very good realisation.

Kaupenjoe says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Man, this feels like the game I wanted to make, if I were able to make these kind of awesome graphics :D
I loved it! The visuals and the audio come together perfectly. Amazing, simply amazing! :D

graebor says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:43am

This is amazing, it feels so completed and polished for a jam game. The progression through the seasons is beautiful, and there is enough going on with the mechanics for it to be fun to play a couple of times through. Really great work!

FiSilva says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:29am

Very good, so relaxing but fun at the same time, I loved the music, and the art style is very pretty too!

terryg says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:59am

This type of game is the reason that I love the Ludum Dare. It captures art in a beautiful game form that you wouldn't otherwise normally see. Very innovative and very much in the spirit of the theme. Great job!

Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:03am

such a great mood and just look at the graphics! Very good entry!

dx0ne says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:00am

Just wow! Great use of theme, great art and mood. Would be great on tablet. And would be great as and continuous experience - like game that takes one year to finish, when you could only point direction to grow and trim.

scorched says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Nicely done, calming game, my score is 93!

fergarram says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:57pm

I love the art!!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]