Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Spongos : Family Adventure

by Spongos - Jam Entry

This Insane Game Will Absolutely Blow Your Mind, The 8TH Level Is My Favorite, You Will Never Look At Your Mother The Same Way
Like Comment & Subscribe For A Painful Yet Surprisingly Dank Agony

"how do i virginity removal"
- Du Swagg Mag

" >2015
>playing video games "
- /v/

"10/10 too much water"
- anita sarkeesian

"fuck your memes"
- IGN

PLEASE PLAY THIS GAME WITH SOUND
SINCERELY.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2210Coolness20%

Comments

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Just a heads up: Dropbox does not permit cross-origin framing, so the version embedded on the Ludum Dare page doesn't work at all (it kind of suprises me that you didn't notice this yourself).
When I try to download the game in order to play it, a warning pops up saying "Exported games won't work until you upload them. (When running on the file:/// protocol, browsers block many features from working for security reasons.)".
You could upload your game to itch.io for free, and then embed that version here. That should work and it should stop that warning from appearing.

About the actual game: After pressing "-" the first time, everything just went black and nothing else happened. Is that supposed to happen?
Honestly, I find it very hard to find any kind of value in this, I'm sorry...

Auroz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:07pm

The game wouldn't run embedded, seems you messed something up while uploading.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:12pm

I can't run the game :(

denycetm says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Got it running locally.
Very political. Truthfully I like the little dudes and they animate well. Just not a whole lot to do.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Tried to get it to run locally after it not working online, nothing happens. I think it's worth it to properly host/embed it somewhere.

midgard says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Couldn't run it

Yvanor says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Wow. So much drugs ! :D Thanks for the laugh :3

LeReveur says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Didn't understand anything, but perhaps it is because I had to download it and play it on local... However, I liked the drawings. ;)

lurils says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:09pm

it should work if you got it host in a public folder and then linked just the html, that is how I host mine...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]