Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Herballistic

by Neoludo - Jam Entry

Everyone knows that nuclear apocalypse is no excuse to stop working - especially when you're a robotic gardener.

Herballistic is a game that was made in 72 hours for the 34th Ludum Dare Game Jam, by a team consisting of Lucas Kent, Arie Oldman and Robbie Quinn.

The game's music was composed by Kevin Macleod, and is available for download at http://incompetech.com/

Due to the nature of the time limit on the jam, there may be a few bugs and issues with application icons. We'll fix these eventually, I promise!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#38Theme(Jam)4.32
#96Humor(Jam)3.71
#101Mood(Jam)3.88
#249Overall(Jam)3.61
#304Fun(Jam)3.43
#405Innovation(Jam)3.29
#412Graphics(Jam)3.64
#1611Coolness44%

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:34am

:) Good Game man i really like the minimalistic art style.

jangdan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:54am

I love the mathematical trees. the game is really cute and simple. congratulations!

marod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:59am

I was trying to play the game, but the .exe didn't work for me :(

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:01am

Fun little game, I like the minimalist aesthetic. :)

Neoludo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:04am

Hi @Marod, I'm so sorry something is broken - I don't suppose you could let me know what happens when you try to run the exe? I tested it on as many computers as I could and didn't run into any issues yet.

James McVitty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:10am

Great job!

Gipzo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:10am

Adorable graphics, nice gameplay. Not very hard too play. I'd suggest to add score for how much each tree was loved and watered, not just count trees :)

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:13am

seen a few more entries with this old mechanic. however, this one strikes the spot with high level of polish, cute graphics and main protagonist. there is something poignant in the tropes where robots continue their programmed duties after the humans are gone. very well done. if i had to pick one thing i would do different, id only choose slightly darker music theme or weird distorted effect on this one. well done.

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Art is gorgeous, really like the minimal clean style in a post-apocalypse. Game felt a little easy/slow to start, Water and Love never really seemed to be in short supply the way I was playing.

Those trees btw, beautiful effect.

Kushulain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:16am

Fun at the beginning, but tend to be a little laborious in the end :) I love the situation, make me think of wall-e. Nice job guys !

flwns says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:17am

well executed, good stuff

mattlevonian says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:17am

Felt pretty well polished, but it lacked a certain je ne sais quoi. Maybe a little more depth in the mechanics would have gone a long way.

qwetro says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:34am

Great music, beautiful trees, are they generated randomly or using pre-designed pattern?

lectric.monk says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:37am

this game's all right. nice entry.

martim00 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:58am

Really like this one! Beautiful graphics and music (and sound) gives the mood. Nice use of both themes.

randomhuman says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Great game, lovely minimalistic art style. Could be slightly more challenging I think. I especially like the variety of algorithmic trees :)

RSquarStudios says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:12pm

Really nice game! What I really love most is the clean and minimalistic design!! Gameplay is also ver well conceived! Congrats!

RSquarStudios says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Which game engine did you use? Love2D? Cheers

guoboism says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 1:52am

I like the fractal tree. The vector art is nice, too.
The game play, is like Ping with survival.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]