Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

EXTERMINOIDS!

by LudoGames - Jam Entry

The facility has been overrun with corrosive goo! Play as Eyebot, Tv Head and Steve, AKA the Exterminoids, and clear it of those horrible slimes so everyone can go back to work.

Don't worry about the mess, you're not the cleanbots.

EXTERMINOIDS! is a top-down shooter with three characters with different weapons and personalities that work together to take down the enemies. When left on their own they can defend themselves. The whole game is controlled with the mouse - use left mouse button to fire, right mouse to toggle running/switch characters, and aim with the mouse.

We had a lot of fun making this game and we hope you enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#40Graphics(Jam)4.56
#187Innovation(Jam)3.61
#295Fun(Jam)3.44
#446Overall(Jam)3.39
#600Theme(Jam)3.59
#1857Coolness36%

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:16pm

It seems the game doesn't really start, but the art is really nice! Good looking characters (: Well done!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:19pm

It took me a long time to figure out that I had to put my characters on the pressure plates, short gameplay but very innovative. Absolutely beautiful graphics! And obviously a lot of brain and effort behind the tech. If you guys had more time this would have been an amazing entry. Hope you guys continue working on this. 10/10

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:23am

What a fantastic idea! Really loved the gameplay once I got the hang of it. The art is amazing for a 72-hour jam!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:04am

Short, but fun mechanics, really liked your art style.

luysse_l says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:58pm

very beautiful game

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:07pm

It works well for me (WebGL / Firefox) but the download is a little too long and without a clear message I'm afraid most players leave the page before the game is completely downloaded.
By the way, nice graphics and interesting game-play, but where is the theme ?

Xanjos says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Sound is kind of broken (at least in the WebGL and Windows versions) and in the Windows version there's a strange physics bug that's preventing me from activating switches but I really like the swapping mechanic.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Great models and visual aesthetic. Very short, hope you'll work on it a bit more, has potential.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Amazing graphics, and a fun game once I figured out the controls. You should do a post-jam version with more levels!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Graphics are awesome loved the style, could have been longer but I loved the mechanic of the multiple robots.

tompudding says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Looks fantastic, and an interesting little mechanic (though it could be tidied up with a bit more work and made a bit more responsive). Great job!

Budi says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Great concept - it feels like start of really good game, it just needs more levels. :-)

Characters are getting stucked some times, which is quite annoying and I don't like the camera effect, when your character is shooting.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]