Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Dude On Fire

by voca - Jam Entry

Run, jump, roll and enjoy!

Mobile version coming soon! Do not miss - follow us on twitter! https://twitter.com/voca_apps

Thank you all for feedback! Very helpful and pleasant.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#191Graphics(Jam)4.05
#229Audio(Jam)3.53
#293Humor(Jam)3.06
#572Mood(Jam)3.15
#626Theme(Jam)3.56
#748Overall(Jam)3.06
#921Fun(Jam)2.59
#999Innovation(Jam)2.19

Comments

dodormeur says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:09am

The field view is so short, escaping is random, which is quite frustrating.
The art and audio are really nice, if you expended a bit the window it cool be really cool :)

Mano says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:25am

Cute little game. I wish I just could see a little more ahead of me.

Rob_Haines says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:26am

This is really cute, & I love the art style. However, the time the player has to react to the obstacles is just a split-second too short to feel satisfying. With a little polish this could do well on mobile, I think!

luke says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:33am

so much beautiful,but the player must see the obstacle in advance, else the game gets an unfair difficulty

Reccy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:35am

Fun little game, nice art style :)
It's a little bit too difficult though.

guoboism says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:42am

Would be better if landscape window.
The art is so cute!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:44am

Cute game but unplayable because i couldn't see the next obstacle sooner. Maybe try with a horizontal view instead of vertical.

The art is nice and the audio fits well with the mood of the game.

Good job :)

MrAmlice says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:00am

Nice art and overall feel. I would agree with a lot of the preceding posts, it became too difficult due to a lack of vision with obstacles. Feels like it was designed for vertical mobile, should be horizontal for this type of game imo. Great job otherwise though.

pinion says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:05am

Very cute character and I liked how I changed colour when I died. But I died a lot!

I wonder if some colour coding would help the obstacles stand out from each other more? Or maybe as other are saying it's a view distance issue.

shrapx says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:06am

very sweet design, until i remember its on fire :( my best was 8 points, my average was like 1.. good work.

eerongal says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:12am

I agree with what others say here. Solid idea, but the view window is so small that it makes it kinda difficult.

sonelliot says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:18am

Cute game. I like the music and art! I agree with some of the other comments that the field of view is a bit too narrow and means you need lightning reflexes to get a high score. Even so, great job!

cudabear says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:24am

This game looks and sounds awesome! Shame is, its too dang hard to play. It's mostly because I have such a short reaction period to judge what to do next, as well as the hitboxes on the obstacles being unforgiving.

MicroMacro says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:26am

Adorable game, though the field of view is a little too small for my liking, however the game is still fun to play. Nice job!

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:31am

Art, audio, and controls are fine. The design is a bit off. A wider view would be better. Plus, with a wider view you could focus on different types of hazards and terrain. Good work nonetheless.

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:33am

Fun music and graphics. Good animations.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:34am

Such a great looking game! I'm going to have to express the same sentiments here - you aren't given enough time between when you see the obstacle and when you can react to it.

It's super frustrating and while the game sounds nice and looks nice, I stopped after my third death.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:53am

I like it! Very cute art and music. Love the way he rolls. Only complaint is that I'm not sure why it is such a skinny portrait layout. It feels like an unfair restraint to have such a limited view. I had fun with it though, great job!

NoGrapes says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:59am

Great concept and the graphics are great too. I have a problem with the field of view however. The hazards come in way too fast at the get-go and the actual hazards kind of blend in with the background. I didn't know what I was getting hit by the first few times I've died.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:09am

Very nice art and music. Great job

Clavus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:18am

Well, what is there to say... it's a dude on fire :)

XenosNS says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:27am

Looks very slick. Would prefered if there was more warning of what was coming to avoid.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:35am

Absolutely lovely visuals and audio. However, I felt like I didn't have enough time to react to oncoming obstacles. As others have said, this could probably easily be solved with a slightly larger viewport.

Troma says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:44am

Nice graphics!

radmars says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:48am

Adorable! Seems a bit hard though, would be nice if it started slower then ramped up the speed.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:50am

As others have said, the style and art direction is spot on, but the field of view is way too narrow to make the game fun. simplest change would be to move the player off center so that you have a little bit more time to see what's coming. The other change would be to switch to a horizontal orientation so that there's more space between the edge of the screen and the player.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:23am

I can repeat the comments of other people that it is very frustrating not to see ahead.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:50am

Super well polished game. The aspect ratio makes me feel like I'm going to see this on mobile any day now. Good luck with it.

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:08am

I thought it was a bit frustrating.. I dont go well in these fast reaction games. The art is nice though. Congrats.

Yword says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:38am

Really polished graphics and nice music! Quite hard but very additive too! Well done!

argosenpaikun says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:24am

Ahmm, the graphics very nice and I'm quite fans of it. The gameplay... i recommend the view need to be expand bigger letting players to identify the upcoming obstacles =T

Nice music...

bradur says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:53pm

The game is very difficult at first, maybe a bit slower pace when the game starts? Anyhow, the controls were crisp and the grahpics, sound and music worked together well. Well done!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Unique entry. Amazing!

Warboys says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Cute as all hell but yeah, like others have said, it should really be in landscape. Extremely hard to play, I think my best score was 5 and I played for around 5 minutes xD

pcmaster says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Very cute, I like they change colours, your graphics is crisp. But I never made it to more than 5 :D

Coomzy says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Dev, what was your highest score while making this?!? I got 3

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:30am

way too little time to react. makes it super hard

aare says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:09am

Damn that was hard, maybe next time you turn the screen to give player more time to react?
Great art thou :)

Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:19am

It would be better to give the players more reaction time.

logon13 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:15am

Really hard game I only managed to get 4

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:35am

At first I thought I was getting old and reactions were waning, but then the comments made me feel better =)

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:39am

I love the art and the music but it gave the same frustration as flappy bird because it is so hard. The player just don't get enough reaction time.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:18am

Jeez, this game is bloody hard! Barely any time to react to the obstacles... Otherwise, it's rather well-polished.

spotco says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:05am

Would have liked more time (or at least varying time) to react, and more mechanics.

bog13 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:55am

Nice :D

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:18pm

The art is really nice and I like the idea but unfortunately I feel like the game is kind of ruined because of the FOV. It seems more up to chance than skill when playing this game. Good job nonetheless!

Peekotus says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:02pm

wish i could see a bit more

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:01pm

This is cute! I found the difficulty far too high on account of only being able to see a really short distance in front of the character though.

Looks really nice, the character design and animation are really cute and with some tweaks to the difficulty/play-ability, would be a fun little game.

ElliotFiske says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:53pm

Cute game! The graphics, animations and audio are all lovely.

Unfortunately the obstacles appear just a little too quickly.. another half-second or so to give time to react would make this WAY more enjoyable.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:34am

Hey ! Wich one of you little rascals set the ass of this poor creature on fire !?

Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Very cute vector-artstyle. Animations were also pretty fluid, except for the jump which felt a bit stiff.

The gameplay was pretty serviceable although I would've prefered a horizontal view instead, so I could see a little bit more ahead of myself and plan out my moves. Especially as the obstacles were randomly generated.

Otherwise, it's pretty nice. Could definitely see myself playing it on my phone :).

ohmaigawd says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:00pm

The game is really hard but got me addicted so that's good. Nice graphics!

Ludipe says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Hey!

Thought the art was cool, gameplay gets frustrating. You have a lot of vertical space that isn't really that useful, while hazards appear on the left and you don't get enough time to react.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:47pm

This is a really solid package.
Nice graphics and audio and tight gameplay!
It was a little hard to dodge sometimes because you don't get much time to see what's coming, but other than that,
Gooooooooood job!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:06am

Like many have said, the art is beautiful but the execution is kinda flawed. Alot have said its just too short a time to react to incoming obstacles but I think you intended that based on the resolution this game starts in.

I think the real problem is that its hard to distinguish between the spikey stuff your supposed to avoid and the background. Like, the first three times I played I literally thought i just died from nothing. Mike the stuff your dodging a different color or shape or something and that'll make it alot better I think.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:31am

The View must be bigger or my reaction time is to long.

Weloxux says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Pretty cute. Music got on my nerve after a while though.

High score: 21 (this shit's hard!)

Blobo says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:53pm

I really like how the character changes color every round. it adds variety to an extremely simple game.

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:09pm

the time of reaction is very shot, but everything else is really good! well done!

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:39am

Nice good, good art, but I feel as the field of view is not big enough. It's sort of like a 50/50 chance of which key to press. But good work.

munchor says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Nice new approach on a well-known and simple concept ;)

stefenism says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Well I liked it but I really wish it was horizontal rather than vertical...It would give more time to prepare for obstacles.

Skywilly says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:41am

Very cute game !

Dege says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:21pm

I HATE YOU CUTE LITTLE ADORABLE MONSTER!

cilerba says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:06pm

kind of hard to see what is coming but still a fun idea!

pixelpotions says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Wow, solid entry! Like others said you have a split second to react which makes a barrier for new players. Eventually you'll get better but how many players would stick around? I think it would be better to put the creature a little to the right so you have more view of the obstacles. Great game nonetheless!

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 9:33am

Nice job here! You've done a great work I can't wait mobile version

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Needs more field of view... but other than that a cool little game.

Xanjos says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:12am

The field of view is pretty small so it's quite hard to react to obstacles properly but I really love how smooth the animations were made.

Blake_Lead says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:49am

Great game, congrats ! A bit hard for me, but the graphics, music and animation are really pleasant.

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:27pm

Hard to see what would be ahead of me, kind of frustrating but that's okay because I like frustrating games! c:

Tapehead says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:33am

well.. this game is very hard or i'm just to bad :D .. but overall good job :)

Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:22pm

the game Looks very polished and by the graphics side its ready to ship, but I think there are better ways to make an endless runner hard than giving the Player a short reaction time...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]