Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Shaving Day : The Shave After Tomorrow

by gloim - Jam Entry

This is a minimalistic game about the endless calamity every man has to face!
(got it? "face" ...shaving ...beard ...a little joke)

Ok, jokes aside, this is a mousedriven game for windows.
It's a 24 hour project and my first time participating in Ludum Dare.

Nothing much to say. Really. It's pretty self-explanatory.

Just give it a try and find out how long you can last in this world of pain.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#132Humor(Jam)3.57
#596Audio(Jam)2.76
#677Theme(Jam)3.51
#730Innovation(Jam)2.81
#809Fun(Jam)2.77
#849Graphics(Jam)2.71
#862Mood(Jam)2.66
#928Overall(Jam)2.81

Comments

Ampera says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:18am

Fun for a few moments, but it's just boring after that.

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:19am

Funny game! You should make a mobile version of it. :D

jdoughty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:24am

First time I've seen a simple Unreal 4 game. Finally, I can hand this to my wife and she can know my plight!

Mr_Fudd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:26am

Not bad. I got kinda bored after a minute, let him grow his beard, and got a chuckle out of it. Art was simple but looked nice. Music fit the game nicely.

BudaDude says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:26am

I really liked the particles. It felt good to shave!

Allthebees says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:43am

The beard on my foreheard is always the hardest to shave off. This is a very accurate game.

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:13am

Nice idea, the music is nice. Interesting use of the theme, good work :)

jofra says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:24am

haha I wish I had a beard like that, that grow up to my eyes! Prety funny when it started growing back. xD

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:26am

This game cracked me up! Funny stuff! I really like how the eyes follow the electric razor, and how hair can eventually start growing on his forehead.
Simple idea with awesome execution. Perfect for this jam!

Kakureta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:32am

Simple and funny, but really no point in playing more than 5 minutes.

purrpurr says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:01am

A really nice use of the theme. Does get old after a little while though; but I'm keeping it around just in case. Really enjoyed the hidden humour to the game. It's in the details.

Sourtrance says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:04am

Simple and very funny game. Music seems like a perfect fit. I really like the fact that his beard grows all over his face if you let it grow for too long.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:06am

Hahaha it's almost like real life. You aren't even finished when you have to shave again :D

cudabear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:13am

Well, it's not much of a game. But it certainly is a game. The music does fit it well, and it's fun for a quick five minutes. There's not really any challenge to it, though.

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:21am

Fun game. I pray my facial hair never grows like that

adamk33n3r says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:25am

So you did the jam, a 72 hour competition, in 24 hours? I would have expected more from a jam entry. This would have fit better as a compo but I'm sure there are just reasons that I don't know.

This was a very well polished game. Just when I thought it was getting boring something happened...like the forehead hair :P

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:55am

Loved the concept. Great interpretation of the themes. Not sure why this is a quarter of a gigabyte for such a simple game. At least its not an installer! The shaver lags behind the mouse a bit which can be annoying. Could polish this into a decent mini-game though!

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:12am

Fun little game, would be fun if there was some more variety (for example having to keep the razor away from your eyeballs). Nice first entry though

banana4life says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:33am

quite entertaining... but a 50MB download? really?

ObsessiveNerd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:07am

I shaved a penis into my beard and then became a Wookie. 11/10.

thelasthour says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:38am

Simple but fun game. I like how the eyes follow the razor.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:18am

Good fun game, Fits the theme but i have seen a shaving game before so points goes down for innovation :) Still fun to play the eyes following razor brings the humor xD

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:40pm

OhMyGod 21915 O.o

The cheerful music fit this game like a glove, the only reason it was repetitive was because I was playing for longer than I should have :D

I really liked the eyes following the machine!

At first when playing I was like: "With my frantic hand movement, no wonder he has no eyebrows" but then the game showed me how wrong I was :)

Definitely needs more content but the base is rock-solid, good job!

CremaGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Funny, but gets old fast. I think it could be better with some kind of battery or cooldown for the shaving machine. Congrats anyway, it's a very good idea and it get the theme quite well (and literally)

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:38pm

It's funny, but gets old really fast.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:15pm

That razor! And a beardmeter! And a head looking like a cookie after a while. Nice!

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Nice game. More features would be nice. Overall the game passes.

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Simple game concept but funny to play. Nice job!

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Interesting game :)

Headmade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Why would you shave off this majestic beard?

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:08am

I like the idea, but it gets boring quickly. Someone in the comments suggested a port to mobile devices and I completely agree. This is the kind of thing that you could give out for free with ads in it and make a ton of money (like cookie clicker). Good job!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Really fun, and great minimal style!

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Very fun game.

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Interesting, but it felt more like a toy than a game to me. Good job though, hopefully you'll continue to work on this in the future :)

Reccy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:32am

Cool game for a bit, but the bug where the hair grows over your entire face is the best bug.
Had fun. :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:09am

26,517... and carpel tunnel...
Funny premise for a game

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:17am

Nice game, gets boring fast..

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Funny little game.. some "losing conditions" would be nice (i.e. timer)
Made.. with.. Unreal Engine?! :)

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:19pm

have a fun

Big Cow says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Haha laughed at this so much. This is hilarious little game of sorts. Strangely satisfying. Added hilarity that beard starts to grow on forehead if you are not fast enough :P Good job!

bradur says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Simple little game in which your beard grows way too fast. Funny idea but there wasn't too much variety in the gameplay. Nice graphics & sound.

Coomzy says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Simple, but fun!

timeshapers says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Brilliantly funny if you give up :)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Froze quite a bit for me, but while it was working seemed to play quite well. His eyes must be dizzy after following my mouse for 10 minutes! Good job.

ruerob says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Haha! Had a good laugh with your game! Thank you!

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:23am

Nice game! I had fun with it! =D

scorched says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:58am

I agree this is a painful game :-D

Warboys says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Fun for a little while it seems like you can't lose :p I was shaving for a good 3 minutes and there wasn't much challenge.

Grats on your first entry though, everyone's first LD is a big achievement. Keep at it!

dollarone says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Funny game. I like the beard sprites and what happens once you start giving up. Cool entry!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Man, I wish my facial hair grew as quickly as that guy's! Not that I want my entire face to be covered in hair, of course... Anyway, a fun little game! I did feel a bit bad for shaving over his eyes at times.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]