Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Apple Juice Tycoon

by felixreeve - Jam Entry

Make money by buying apples and making juice!
Employ conveniently named characters!
Keep them fed and quenched!
Train them to be the very best!

INSTRUCTIONS:
Download and unzip the package from GITHUB and open the PLAY.html file to play!

Hold the hotkeys at the bottom to select actions.
Hold one button and press a second to use the action:
eg to get Quentin to start making juice, hold J (for juice) and press Q (for Quentin).

TIPS:
Make sure to train your employees! This will reduce how much you need to feed them and give them drinks! When they reach level 8 they will no longer need you to give them drinks!

You need money to buy apples, you need apples to make juice and you need to sell juice to make money! So keep doing those things to build resources! As long as your employees get enough to eat and drink then you should be able to get more money and train them to cope better on less food and drink!

INFO:
Written in javascript using allegro.js

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#367Humor(Jam)2.90
#689Innovation(Jam)2.88
#848Theme(Jam)3.21
#935Fun(Jam)2.58
#983Overall(Jam)2.71
#995Graphics(Jam)2.08
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

scriptorum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:52pm

"Quentin has died from thirst." Damn. This is a cut-throat apple juice business!

BTW, you can deploy your files to pages.github.com so people won't have to download your repo to play.

Stuntddude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:00pm

This game is pretty hilarious conceptually, and I'm generally a fan of idle games, but there's just *too* much micromanagement going on here. It's hard to grow your business when you spend 90% of your time just trying to keep poor Quentin alive! In addition, the keyboard controls are unwieldy (a proper GUI would be a huge improvement), and it's unclear how some of the mechanics work. For example, when I assign an employee to eat or drink, do they keep going for a set period of time, or until their bar is full, or until I assign them a new task, or what? At what interval does it deplete resources? When I interrupt their eating or drinking to assign them a new task, do they immediately pick up the task, or wait some predefined amount of time before doing it, or wait until they're done eating or drinking, or what? These things are obvious to you, because you programmed the game, but they're completely opaque to anyone else, and I certainly never figured them out myself because I was too busy frantically trying to micro-manage everything else to stop for long enough to pay close attention and experiment with the mechanics.

I really don't dislike this game as much as it sounds like, but it does need a real GUI and some adjustments to the mechanics to make it more fun.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:56pm

A bit more involved than it appeared. Great Job.

vicious_br says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:51am

Ow, congratulation for your game!
I would like to take this opportunity to ask a favor. You already rated my game, but I was not allowed "innovation rating." Please could you assess this item now? Take the opportunity to play with some corrections. Very thanks:http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=36629

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Fun game, I liked it

Budi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:50pm

I really loved the concept. I can see it as quite good strategy game.

It would be nice to have a better controls (using mouse) and the opportunity to play the game directly in browser with one click (nowadays it's not really hard to host it somewhere)

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Fun little game! Not quite an idle game. I like how you progressively can manage the more high level decisions and less your employees immediate needs.
I think I found a bug though. Employing someone with the name [ seems to have crashed the game (everything turn white).

Roffe says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:24am

Quite simple at first, but after some employments it gets really stressful. Very nice little game. Good job :)

Dreyan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:36am

Game is definitely more complex than it appears. Some of the controls felt unnatural, and for me personally that aspect of the game wasn't too enjoyable. However, very nice use of the theme and I was happily surprised by how much I could grow/optimize my little juice business ^^

Knowledge says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Cool game but a bit boring to me.

lawendt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:44am

Guess you got me playing for more than 20 minutes. Love these tycoon games. Controls are pretty simple and offered proper feedback. Without music is better than having an annoying looping music. Keep up the good work!

f7f5 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:42pm

It's cool how everything - food, drink, goods - come from a single raw material.

However once you build a small (so you can manage the feeding) team that gets into cruise speed making money, the game seems to lack a clear goal, direction or challenge.

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 2:17pm

nice idea and good making. Well done!

hadesfury says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:30pm

controls are a little hard ... but good idea ... need a little more ergonomy

loxo says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Nice game concept, but it's really hard to keep all employees alive ;) I had troubles with the controls, it would be nice if they would work independently from the order of the keys pressed (first the employee and then the task/ first the task and then the employee). Some animations and sound effects would be nice.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]