Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Rooster Rockets

by Bracal - Jam Entry

Caleb is Normal difficulty, Brandon wanted a harder game.

W and S or Up and Down to control your rocket, dodge obstacles and finish the level. Intro and ending can be skipped with mouse click.

We only had time for three levels, Caleb level being essentially a tutorial and Brandon's levels having no max speed. It's not as long as we would have liked, but we hope you enjoy the game for what it is and let us know what you think.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2163Coolness22%

Comments

greenscreen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Game's pretty funny, yet very unfinished. Intro makes me smile, but is hard to understand at first. I like the background when the rocket is going fast. It would be more entertaining if it had more content, like upgrades, and more levels.

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Cool idea. I like it. It's charming in its own way. The visuals are nice, and good parallax scrolling. Controls are good, but more content for a game like this is a must. You should try to add more and then go for a real release. :) Good work!

Bracal says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:42am

Thanks for looking and for commenting, we were down to the wire just getting the few levels we had plugged in, that's what I get for putting way too much time into a funny background.

Echo Team says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:17am

The music repeats over itself if you try again XD

I like the failed experiments parallaxing along.

AkirAssasin says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:36am

Haha, nice intro!

awesomerex says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Fun game guys. I liked the opening story.

Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:49am

Yoooo who did the clucking? Give that dude a chicken leg, he deserves it! The artwork is nicely done, effective. That soundtrack is great for the buildup.

I think I found a bug, the song kept looping on top of one another, but then it was just nasty phat beats over and over. I'm not complaining...

I'm gonna go grab some KFC now, thanks.

-LeMix

Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:28pm

I liked how the speed lines made it feel faster. The art and sfx are cute. I don't like how hitting obstacles slows you down, making it take a long time to fail. I'd rather fail faster.

Blobo says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:28am

Nice game, however the music loop stacks over itself everytime the scene changes.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]