Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Escape Squad

by yesandgames - Jam Entry

Four friends escape from their captors by using their niche skills as a team. Inspired by the potential LD34 theme "Stick Together," Escape Squad blends the isometric, top-down shooter mechanics of Binding of Isaac with the single-entity party mechanic of Legend of Grimrock to create a uniquely tactical action roguelike. Play as the four best friends Bearemy the Barbearian, Moz the Firefox, Bandit the Ranger Racoon, and Cynthia the Armordillo escaping from their evil captor-animals. Each shoots in the direction they are facing, and you can rotate the party to change your tactical setup.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2163Coolness22%

Comments

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Ow, I was figuring out the controls as a mass of critters collected by the door and when I hit space, 20 explosion effects played simultaneously, which was rather painful.

Interesting idea for 4 characters joined together, but not theme-related. Nice go, tho.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Great Job. I like the idea of it. I kind of just ran straight through without killing anything. It was cool that each direction was a different attack.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Very interested game mechanic, but sad for absence of themes

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Nice to speedrun !

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:45pm

I made it in 4.93 seconds =D

Galan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:05am

I really like the idea behind this one. With some work this could be a really fun game.

nlbi21 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:18pm

i like it the game mechanic. :3 Good job.

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:56am

Interesting idea. The theme is missing, but nice mechanics. Congrats.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:36am

This is a really cool concept. You should make more levels!

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:57am

Interesting concept. But my controller didn't work with back buttons (rotate).

akirassasin says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:53am

I don't understand how the bear's powers work, so I used him as a bear shield... Moz is OP though.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 3:26pm

fun 5/5
the sounds might be a bit too loud.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]