Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Button Quest

by Henez - Jam Entry

The Buttons from all over the land have been stolen! You must use the last 2 remaining buttons to defeat the dragon and restore the kingdoms buttons.

Controls:
Right arrow: Attack
Left arrow: Cast spell
Nothing pressed: Guard

Alternatively you can click the buttons with the mouse.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#7Fun(Jam)4.28
#13Theme(Jam)4.52
#21Overall(Jam)4.22
#57Innovation(Jam)3.94
#141Mood(Jam)3.77
#154Audio(Jam)3.70
#228Graphics(Jam)3.97
#350Humor(Jam)2.93

Comments

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:48pm

I enjoyed playing the game a lot! It's very nice, but I feel the healing and stunning mechanic are easily abused.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Forgot to rate properly.

Shurty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Very original to take this approach :)
A die and retry with a nice feeling of progression !
Something I would have enjoyed is some way to skip/accelerate cinematics, for a die and retry, you can enjoy the story, but you know it after 6 times playing it again and again :p ;
Nice game :D

Shurty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:52pm

This was actually really fun, got it in 1 try beacause of the healing being too powerfull, but enjoyed the game a lot. Very well done !

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:23am

Pretty well done! It's weird that this game is not popular; you should definitely play more games to advertise your game! Check out my game if you have time, thanks buddy.

huminaboz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:23am

Love it. Great use of the two button controls. Fantastic idea, you could turn this into a larger production.

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:29am

Wow ! Mechanics are crazy ! Ahaha so nice. It is a bit slow, but actually you have a real concept here. You could totally do an infinite game with those mechanics, and by developing content !
Good job. 5 stars for ya.

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:45am

Wow what a fun game. Feels a bit like Risk of Rain with the stacking items, but plays like something I've never seen before. It's weird, it's like I'm being thrown into the fights by some act of will other than my own, but since it's linear gameplay it's perfectly fine. It's also perfectly fine because a lot of RPGs work like that with linear gameplay but you just choose the pace.

So basically, what I'm saying is you made a good game but worked around the theme by removing some control. Totally works.

It is a bit tedious to wait for the spell you want to appear, but I like how the selection process speeds up and that you are guarding as a default while you wait. Nice work!

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:41am

Good job. Nice seeing a completely different game.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:42am

I enjoyed this game a lot! You should launch it in mobile platforms.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:42am

This is a fun game. Great work. Loved playing it over and over :) I'd say this one has lots of potential.

Catblocker says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:46am

Nice and challanging game.
Original story and great gameplay!

lawendt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Good one!

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Innovation is there and this is one of my favorites so far. Place on apple store and people will love it.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Love the graphics and sound - very nice take on a two-button RPG.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:01am

Awesome! I loved the boiled down RPG style. Progression felt quick and satisfying and gameplay was super easy to get into. Great job!

jdoughty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:42am

Solid concept and equally solid follow through! I enjoyed this one immensely!

Big Cow says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Found this on Gamejolt before I realised it was a Ludum Dare game, came here to rate it. Will copy and paste the comment I left on Gamejolt:

'This was actually... pretty awesome. Really fun and simple mechanics, well-excecuted, nice ideas all round including the spell selection system and the retention of power-ups.'

I do agree with the comments that have pointed out that the healing spell is overpowered - but I don't fault the game for that given that it's v hard to balance everything perfectly within the time available. Would definitely like to see this game developed more!

KZdev says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Finished in four attempts! This game was really fun, and looked great too. Very clever spellcasting system. I'd love to see this one expanded on. One of my favorite entries out of the 70+ I've played so far.

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:16am

Beaten in two attempts. Love this game. I think you could really make something out of this given a bit more pacing.

Silverfyre says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:51am

Very enjoyable game! I like how the items bonuses persists to the next attempt, makes me want to farm more items.. Great work there!

richardboegli says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:17am

LOLed "All but two of the kingdoms buttons have been stolen"

Nice game. Was a bit slow between walking to each enemy, but I'm impatient :)

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Nice, liked the story start :D

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Good job, I like the mechanics of two button control.

sonelliot says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:00am

This game is a lot of fun! I like it how you keep your power-ups in between attempts which makes it slightly easier each time; but you also lose all your spells, which means you might need to adopt a different strategy as well. Awesome work! :)

Krafty says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:57pm

This game was fun! It was kind of easy, but it looked good and the sounds were pretty nice. Good job! =D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]