Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growing Circles

by RoynLimb - Jam Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare as well as the first game I've ever attempted to make. As being new to this, and having been pressed on time, the game isn't much. You simply collect the other circles that appear, and you grow as you do.

I enjoyed doing this, and learned a decent amount about making games in Unity 2D. I think if I spent much more time on this, and didn't go in so blind, my entry could have been much better.

You play as the red circle, and move using either WASD or the arrow keys.

Note that you can move off the screen (I didn't implement any sort of boundaries) and the only way to end the game is ctrl+alt+del (that was the only way I could at least).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#757Theme(Jam)3.38
#1017Graphics(Jam)1.82
#1040Fun(Jam)2.29
#1107Overall(Jam)2.27
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:04am

Hey, welcome to Ludum Dare, and congratulations on your first game!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:18am

Getting a game done on your first LD is pretty amazing.

sutopat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:21am

i love it ! once it got big the bright red left a cool after image and changed the blue when it moved

4burner says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:34am

So, you made a thing! That in itself is something to be proud of. The game itself is a thing that runs, but really that's about it. Although, it's all there in the name, so I don't know what I expected.

Congrats on finishing!

Neonlare says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:54am

Congratulations on your first game! The game is a simple Feed the Fish style game, but that's pretty good for a starting submission. Keep it up, I'm looking forward to seeing what you can make in the future :).

prymidion says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:42am

Great job on your first game, internet stranger! Hope it's the first of many.

elizeu says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:49pm

Good job! I think if you do movement like asteroids gets too cool.

anv says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:51pm

For a first Unity game, physics and controls are nicely balanced. Few simple improvements ideas:
- Use higher resolution asset for you Player character, so it's scaled down at the beginning, not scaled up later (scaling up causes visible artifacts).
- Make other cirles movement more randomized (directions and speed).
- Add some losing condition - e.g. when colliding with circles bigger than you - so player has some incentive to stay in game (in this case - avoiding bigger enemies while growing).
- Add some audio, even just simple slurp sound when you devour other circles. There's a lot of Creative Commons and Public Domain sounds and music available, and it can improve playability very much.

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Pretty neat. a score system would've been nice. grats on your first LD.

Jace239 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:19am

I was going to suggest some improvements but it seems anv covered that, so I'll just say congrats on your first LD game. Pushing yourself to actually completing a game and succeeding is a worthy milestone in its own right. Keep improving from here!

dmecke says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Congratulations for finishing your first game! That's a very important step.
Some ideas about how you could continue: At the moment it's more a toy than a game as it has no objectives or challenges. I also like to start with creating toys as it gives you a good feeling whether or not the core mechanics is fun. If it is already fun without any objectives, this is a very good start to add objectives. In your case I would try to adjust the controls a bit as they feel a bit strange and get rid of that "hickup" when you collect other circles.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]