Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Strong Like Orc

by SpareWizard - Jam Entry

Dodge blocks and smash boxes in this endless runner/orc training simulator!

The humans are coming to enslave your (moderately) peaceful tribe of orcs!

Play as an initiate and compete in a training course to train for battle against the unscrupulous humans.

Z - jump
X - attack
(guess which LD theme I went with...)



Comment with your top scores!

I didn't get enough time to make the level generation very robust. It generates alright dungeons, but it's not impossible to have a completely blocked off hallway. Just so you are warned.



Now with web version! Click on the link where it says web.

Additional credits:
Sound effects - sfxr
Background - http://ansimuz.com/site/archives/807
Bricks - http://opengameart.org/content/bricks-0
Music 1 - http://opengameart.org/content/taiko-drums-seamless-loop
Music 2 - http://opengameart.org/content/factory-ambiance

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#278Fun(Jam)3.46
#394Humor(Jam)2.86
#541Overall(Jam)3.30
#626Theme(Jam)3.56
#719Mood(Jam)2.97
#767Graphics(Jam)2.95
#768Innovation(Jam)2.74

Comments

Ghen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:31am

i love it!, at first its really hard to play, i didnt even know you can double jump lol
but when you learn it, its become the game become a little bit easier
it feel fast paced, and because of the nature of the obstacle randomness, its really hard to predict what to do sometimes lol

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:35am

Smashing them boxes sure is satisfying.

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:56am

I have to say, I do really like the rough graphics, I think it really fits the theme of the game well. The ambient sound is also really good, I think it helps you get into a zone of smashing crates and jumping really well. I think you guys did a good job of locking down the core mechanics of jumping and smashing crates, because both felt satisfying, and it was great to be able to chain them together. I think something that I would like to see in this would be a score or combo meter that could go up as you smash more boxes in a shorter space of time, or something to add a bit of variety into the gameplay. Seeing a X4 multiplier or something coming out of the smashed boxes would really nail down the game feel, and showing the score going up could help give the player instant feedback on their performance, and help give it a spectacle fighter kind of element. I am really curious as to how you guys did the procedural generation, was it preset pieces fit together or randomly spawned walls? I think they both have benefits, but the former could really help make the level design flow more if it's not already in use (as well as take out some awkward situations where it's impossible to progress). Overall, I really enjoyed this, great job.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:58am

Grobby is a free orc.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:02am

I will say this: the game is very well made. BUT, I am not a huge fan of "runner" games. Innovation is the only thing this is really lacking, everything else is very good for LD.

zaniarm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:11am

I'm not sure why but I just love the graphics :D. Solid gameplay, a bit hard at first but I got used to it quick.

Good job. "Lok'tar ogar" my friend.

ElliotFiske says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:50am

Great game! I love the 8bit style, and it's super satisfying to jump'n'stab your way across the level.

The blurbs at the end of a life are hilarious!

paulfysh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Pretty difficult, but it is fun to be basically a ninja orc.

Almost says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:16am

Is it intentional that you can:
1) double jump,
2) <jump, dash, jump, dash> forever,
3) double jump after a dash if you dashed during the upward part of your jump?

SpareWizard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:24am

Yes, swing/jump chains are intentional. That's why one of the scores is longest air time, and it sometimes says "You can jump again after swinging" at the end.

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:35am

Nice ! A bit tricky at first, but it makes it way more interesting after a few games. Good job. Love the music.

HongerTrollie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:47am

I had a lot of fun once i mastered the basic skills of jumping after attacking and double jumping into an attack into a jump :) Well done!

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:48am

lol "special effects by Vlambeer" - nice :)
For an infinite runner this is pretty cool. Difficult, but keeps drawing you back for one more go. In that I think you succeeded. Running animation needs arms though :)
With some polish this has lots of potential , great work.

Tasgardyen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:48am

I had fun, nice game!

SpringCabal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:54am

It's neat. I really like it, but I'm bad at these types of games. The fact that the bottom boxes are actually rocks is a really bad design choice imo. To the end user it's deceptive when playing and irritating.

I still played it quite a few times though. I like it!

David Cookie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Surely the most addictive game I've played so far! Pretty simple idea but well executed and fitting one theme. It sure is a lot of fun to break boxes while in mid air, or to "fly" as long as possible :)

Garris says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:27am

This game was a lot of fun to play! I kept trying again and again to progress more down the line. I liked your audio, and the two button controls worked well!

Aerohand says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:30am

looks good but why every time i started i just die without seeing anything...

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:08am

I always like it in a game where I can double jump again after using an attack in the air. I don't know why, it just feels right. And fun! Good work.

spotco says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:37am

It seems like potentially a really fun game core (infinite jump + slash floating combos), wish there were more level mechanics (enemies, etc) to play around with.

felilix says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:52am

Nice flow to the gameplay, so satisfying!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:08am

The music really does give it the mood it needs, though the simple orc sprites are cute too. I feel often I got stuck on a wall by the bottom pixel of my toe which was frustrating but that's only because the flow of the game is otherwise really nice.

akirassasin says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:05pm

UNCLE GROSH I COME! AND I fail... miserably

Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Damn cool gameplay. Smart idea and clever use of controls. Love this game!

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:44pm

A neat take on an endless runner. Nice amount of control through the double jump and jumping while/after dashing. As I think some others have mentioned, the crates have a really satisfying way of smashing.

I'd say you've done Uncle Grosh proud.

Ludic says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:45pm

fun game

Allthebees says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Really fun game. I think the animation and character design is superb. Impressive that so much was done so quickly, the text on the lose screen was a nice touch :) I feel like some of the mechanics are a bit off, such as no double jump after dash and also instantaneous jump and dash which is fair enough when it was only made in a weekend.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]