Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Nepeta Cataria

by TeamOliphants - Jam Entry

A game by Lindsey Bieda and Jackie Kircher focusing on the Ludum Dare theme of two button control where you hit right to allow cats into the club that match the requirements on the VIC (Very Important Cats) list and left to dismiss those who aren't quite there.

The windows version will probably work fine in WINE if you want to run on Linux.


Additional vocals provided by Lindsey's cat Dash.

Music CC provided by strangeday.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#77Humor(Jam)3.78
#137Graphics(Jam)4.17
#286Mood(Jam)3.50
#344Overall(Jam)3.50
#360Theme(Jam)3.83
#449Fun(Jam)3.23
#719Innovation(Jam)2.83

Comments

Loneshark says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:35am

Next time I go to the club I am totally going to rock blinder shades and a red bow tie

765, but I forgot about the x list...

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Turns out i'm not a good at this

Rose says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Cute game! I want to let in all the cats...

elliottd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:56pm

great animation/drawings! It seemed like my paw always comes up obscuring the next cat i want to look at. also the whole game seems to be played in the bottom left of the screen. you could think about repositioning those elements.

Doctor_N says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Okay to start with I thought this was really pointless but after about 5 minutes when I worked out what the clipboard meant I thought it was awesome :D Loved the sound design loved the art and spent about an hour on this XD

Dreyan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Really enjoyed this :)

FireTwin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Really cute, like the idea of some cartoon cat raves haha. It could have done with a bit the difficulty ramping up quicker, or some extra little mechanic to keep people on their toes. Well done with the two button theme, nailed it!

kmakai says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:22pm

Awesome job, got 1125. Really enjoyed this one, and the added touch of authentic cat sounds was perfect!

mitya1234 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:50am

The games about cats, they are always interesting. And this is about cats and ramdom. This is really good.

arzi says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:22pm

Cats is always a +1 star! Good work overall :)

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Not bad, a little difficult to figure out which ones I should let in and shouldn't. Fit the theme well and looks good good.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Cute graphics!

thesquigglez says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:05pm

like tinder for cats
best game of ludum dare ive played so far.
this will stay on my desktop so i can play more

Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Surprisingly enjoyed this one! Its a bit difficult to understand the symbols on the clipboard sometimes, but the art was cute, the music was fitting, and it was a nice challenge.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:45am

Fun, but tell people what your controls are! I tried pressing like every button on the keyboard, and I clicked all over the screen, and I skimmed the text up here (looks like I missed it... but it should be in big letters, or it should be in the game)

Ithildin says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Cute graphics! :D

teeth says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 4:37am

This was way harder than I thought it would be @_@ I loved the strobelights that came on occasionally!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]