Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Flowering Souls

by Lullaby - Jam Entry

Flowering Souls is applying in the two themes of this 34th Ludum Dare : Growing & Two buttons Controls.

In Flowering Souls, you have to GROW a population of souls locked on earth. Will you manage to save them from darkness ?
Using some mystical stones, you'll have to guide them for their safety, but also face and destroy the darkness minions who aim your destruction.

Two buttons controls :
Left Click => Move souls to a stone
Right Click => Trigger stone effect

(Esc to quit the game)

Hope you'll enjoy the game and have a nice moment! :)
Cheers.

A game by :

Louis Denizet - Game Design/Programing
Mathieu Clavel - Game Design/Graphic Design
Benjamin Baldassini - Music Composer


Edit 16/12 : Updated solving a crash bug with the portal stones.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#33Audio(Jam)4.14
#41Mood(Jam)4.14
#55Graphics(Jam)4.48
#60Overall(Jam)3.98
#130Innovation(Jam)3.73
#251Fun(Jam)3.50
#319Theme(Jam)3.89

Comments

marmpa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:29am

Really nice game loved the theme and the graphics.

ragnta says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:56pm

I like your game. It has good theme and graphics. Nice job.

Yvanor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Wow. A very polished game, with a great atmosphere and an very good gameplay. Thanks for this game, that was really cool ^^

Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Great art and music! Though it took me a while to figure out what do the stones actually do.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Really nice and soothing game, with a well cafted atmosphere! It was a bit slow at the start so I almost left it, but then the rythm becomes better
The visual assets look very good!

tribrain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Nice theme and graphics, good game and good job

Meta-link says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:06pm

Cool game !
I love the way you use the stones, also the graphics are really cool and the music creating a good mood :)
Good job guys !

Vidinu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Good design, music and atmosphere. Great job!

NuggetTeam says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Great game. Good gameplay, good graphics, good audio... Congratz!

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:16am

To be honest i played only youtube but i think its awesome. Graphics, gameplay,theme realization - all on high level! Perfect!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:15am

Looks awesome! But why are you hasn't mac/wev version?(((

Lullaby says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:20am

So sorry mate, but unfortunately there is no web or mac version...yet :D Who knows..!

A BIG "Thanks!" to all of you for your feedbacks & comments.

Cheers

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:10pm

I love the mechanic. Art and music are pretty nice! Good job, solid entry.

flukeshot says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:25pm

So chill.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:34pm

The mood is fantastic, and loved the depth of the strategy you created with two buttons. Overall, the game was a bit slow for me, and the audio stopped sometimes in the tutorials, but those are minor flaws that are totally understandable.

Nice game:)

logon13 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Beautiful use of lights within the time period

dodormeur says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Really nice game !

Taldius says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:04pm

It's almost unfair how good your game is !
keep the good work guys !

koocachookies says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Interesting gameplay. Very nice graphics and musics/sound fx. Maybe a little difficult to understand at the beginning but I enjoyed it a lot :) Good job!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Very tranquil game, slow but easy to get into. The difficulty in the beginning was a little rough-- it seemed like it got easier as time went on and I couldnt find a way to not have to play through the tutorial over and over when I first started and was learning the mechanics. Maybe that's just me but I learned better by doing than reading.

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Very nice concept. Not really the fan of "soul"-y games, but this is a very nice production.

wilbefast says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Very interesting concept with great sound and music :) I do like this kind of indirect control. The random generation does create situations where it can be difficult to react though, so if this were to become a "full game" I think it might be worth bounding creature spawn and paths to have a bit more control over the difficulty.

A bit slow to restart - possibly a bit laggy on my computer (?) I'm not sure, frame-rate seemed a bit unstable.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:45pm

killing the enemy does not work every time but the game has a cool idea and and it makes fun! overall very well done!!!

Skywilly says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Great mood, i love it :)

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:49pm

A pleasant experience with a nice atmosphere and really cool graphics and sound design.

I was not a very good soul parent though. :)

Good stuff, well done!

Solifuge says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:07pm

The indirect control created some nice emergent moments where I would speed-boost my souls to spread them out, and then sweep across the map to gather new recruits, though I could just as soon speedboost to get away from too many shadows.

I didn't understand the reason for having duplicate stones toward the end-game, beyond giving my souls more targets, and better freedom of movement. It might have been nice if the stones themselves had a longer cooldown instead of (or in addition to) the cooldown bar, so you'd have to hop around more, and maybe bide time while the Reds recharged.

This game looked and sounded great, and had a good bit of strategic depth too. Excellent work! I really enjoyed the mood of this, and had a good time playing. Thanks for putting this together!

PixlWalkr says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 2:35pm

I like the art and audio, good job!

themadknights says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:44pm

Nice mood and a really cool idea. Good work.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:34pm

Man what a lovely atmosphere! The gameplay was really unique I felt and the whole experience was a joy to play! Amazing stuff!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]