Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

There was An Old Woman...

by Yumi and Zumi - Jam Entry

There was an Old Woman that Swallowed a fly...

Play through the interactive poem with tough mini-games as the old woman eats larger and larger things!

Play till the end to see the grandmother nude!

Art/design: Joe Le Huquet

Game/design/narration/incredible foley sound effects: Charlie Ewing

Follow us on twitter for more: https://twitter.com/yumiandzumi

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Humor(Jam)4.81
Fun(Jam)4.33
#29Innovation(Jam)4.10
#44Overall(Jam)4.05
#57Audio(Jam)4.05
#90Mood(Jam)3.90
#286Graphics(Jam)3.86
#623Theme(Jam)3.57
#2001Coolness30%

Comments

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Great from a writer's perspective

Soka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Nice game dude :D I love the narrator

Bemmu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:30pm

I had no idea an LD entry would come out that would actually blow my mind. But it did. GRAAAAAAHHH.

Remblej says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:39pm

ROTF

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:41pm

what... was... that? i actually enjoyed it... somehow... okay... nothing to see here, ill see myself out.

Harsay says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:46pm

10/10

Saymon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Nice game

dusho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:14pm

what was that :)
feels like I played 5 or so Ludum Dare games..
good one!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Wow this is cool haha.
The enthusiasm of the narrator really did it for me.
It is pretty lengthy and it was funny enough to keep me interested. The art is really good too, I loved the face of the sun, and the "god".
The ending freaked me out, wtf!

Cyranh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Hahaha wow that must be the most disturbing ending I've seen so far.

johntherobot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Haha great! Really cleanly and cleverly designed. Artwork was really consistent. Only thing that was a problem was the rhino shooting mechanic! Hard to play with a track pad, but that's probably my fault. Good job!

utgarda says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Change of game multiple game mechanics :)

Made it to the black hole, but then I right-clicked and the whole thing hanged - everything disappeared, only the background was still there.

Yumi and Zumi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:23pm

@utgarda Hey sorry buddy I really can't replicate that bug? Do you have any more information for me pal? Was it the black hole and the sun level or the black hole the galaxy level?

Webravenz says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:49am

A complete story for a beutifule compelte game thank you !

Tooichi says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:58am

Loved the entry. I found the dog part to be kinda annoying tho :)

ashish says ...
Jan 6, 2016 @ 10:04am

Where is the nude old woman :p

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]