Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Little Penguin

by littlepenguinteam - Jam Entry

Help the arctic fox take the baby penguin home through a snowy land full of dangerous bears. Its warm story will not let anyone freeze while getting from ice cube to ice cube to finally reach and save our little friend!!

CONTROLS
A - Change Fox direction
SPACE - Change ice growth

NOTE
Play it on your max resolution!

Enjoy! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#26Mood(Jam)4.27
#95Overall(Jam)3.87
#124Audio(Jam)3.80
#177Theme(Jam)4.07
#183Graphics(Jam)4.07
#273Fun(Jam)3.47
#424Innovation(Jam)3.27
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:49am

Great production value, always great to see story in Ludum Dare games. Quick note, when I ran it in full screen the menus got all messed up. worked fine in windowed mode. Good job

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:59am

Full screen bugs windowed mode works, that seems to be an extra theme this time lots of games don't like full screen.

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:59am

Really great job! It's short, but the quality is so good that it doesn't really matter. The fox and bear animations are really cute and well done. Would love to see a whole game with that art style.

jofra says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:47pm

very cool background story!
Wish the fox moved a little bit faster tho :S

Yword says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:56am

This is really relaxing and interesting, and I like the story and music very much! Well done!

kaa says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Very nice! Intro was very interesting and beautiful. Solid gameplay.

PKCat says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Very cute game. I wonder how the story will continue...

Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Lovely narration, and the background was really beautiful too, though it's a shame you had so little time to develop the level.

I can't help find it strange that you came up with a story for why the fox was in the same place as penguins, and then added in polar bears anyway. ; P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]