Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Saturn Valkyrie Dione

by ItchyGames - Jam Entry

Controls:
Left & Right: Move
Down: Crouch or Aim (while running)
Up: Aim
Z = Shoot
X = Jump
Space bar = Start Game

Saturn Valkyrie: Dione is an 8-direction Run 'n Gun.

Game story:

The year is 3072, the space Mecha-Dinos are attacking the solar system making poisonous plants grow all over the place.

Take the role of Dione, a Space Valkirie destinated to protect the Saturn Planet and its numerous moons. With her shockwave blaster and abilities, she'll crush any invader she finds, and put an end to the poisoning of Saturn caused by the ever growing purple vegetation.


Credits:

Programming: @itoaragon, @esciron @trolldinger.
Graphics: @itoaragon
Sound and Music: @esciron

Gamejolt site: http://gamejolt.com/games/saturn-valkyrie-dione/114081
Itch.io site: http://itoaragon.itch.io/saturn-valkyrie-dione

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#262Graphics(Jam)3.91
#315Fun(Jam)3.41
#475Audio(Jam)3.09
#518Mood(Jam)3.21
#604Humor(Jam)2.50
#705Overall(Jam)3.12
#1001Innovation(Jam)2.18
#1096Theme(Jam)1.96

Comments

Rodaja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:50pm

This game has a real retro feel to it. Both in the setting and gameplay.

The colors are really pretty, though some elements stand out in a jarring way.

I don't really see any of the two themes in it, though.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Works smoothly. I don't see any of the themes though...

Polith Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Nice game, but where is the theme?

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:25pm

It looks great and the graphics are pretty. I like it.

Dooskington says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Excellent music, sound effects, and graphics. I didn't see much use of the themes, however.

xdigdoug says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Very solid game. Doesn't fit the theme as well as other entries. The sound and graphics quality are very nice.

Drury says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:32pm

This isn't Saturn as I remember it.

kernel panic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:33pm

The theme is non existent, but it is a fun game.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:33pm

I really don't like the art style of the game, but that's a subjective thing I guess. The mechanics of the game play prettyy well, even though it is quite difficult to get used to the controls :)

Troma says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Works fine and nice art.

redzero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Nice game! But I guess that shooting animation didn't need that much of particles.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:24pm

The game was fun, but it didn't adjust to the theme.

StitchesMagoo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:39am

Super cool entry, Try choosing outlines on your environment or character, not both, because they fight for depth in the scene, which makes your beautiful art harder to read. Otherwise a really nice entry! Well done!

koocachookies says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:41am

Cool retro-styled game! Congrats :)

blohod says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:44am

Very fun, amazing graphics, I loved the parallax background.
judged on stream at http://www.twitch.tv/meep706, watch the highlight to see me play

CremaGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Cool game, but I don't see the themes in it, sorry.

ItchyGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Thanks for streaming the game, Blohod :)

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:27am

Didnt get the theme at all. Besides that, nice game you have there! Congrats.

Anachron says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Rad palette, and title screen is sweet. Fun game too. I was able to fall to the side of spikes in pits and not get hit I think... was tricky to shoot diagonally. Died at the first/last? boss.

Jan 12, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Lovely graphics, smooth game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/lBXur6KZCzs

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]