Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

A Growing Threat

by AM_Games - Jam Entry

A Growing Threat
----------------

What's better than sacrificing yourself for the good of humanity?
Sacrificing others, of course!

The world has been overrun by a growing alien threat and humanity's last hope is to seek out the aid of demons. Seek out and enslave your fellow humans while protecting them from alien threats. The more humans you keep alive for sacrificing, the stronger your demon overlord grows! The stronger your overlord, the easier it will be to crush the final alien opposition!

Download to find out more!

Music credits
-------------
Main theme: Cartoony Background Music by BitsAlive [See: https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/16756]

Boss fight: Fight To The End by Chibola Productions [See: https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/16277]


End Notes
---------
Hi everyone! This is our first entry into Ludum Dare together, and personally my first attempt at making art for a game (so go easy on the art style!). Additional art assets were taken from free online sources.

Game: Unity
Art : Photoshop
Sound effects: bfxr

Please let us know if the Linux or Mac versions have trouble as they are un-tested.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#117Fun(Jam)3.73
#269Humor(Jam)3.14
#398Overall(Jam)3.43
#490Innovation(Jam)3.18
#557Audio(Jam)2.90
#647Mood(Jam)3.05
#712Theme(Jam)3.45
#877Graphics(Jam)2.64
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

blohod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:44am

really fun, followers were a bit glitchy but I played it to the end

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:37am

Really fun game. Best I've played so far. I like the micro-managing aspect of all the followers. It's really fun. And then trying to protect and move them, and even use them to solve puzzles. It's great. Would love to see this as a bigger game.

Some things to consider should you wish to continue working on the game:

1. Show last bosses health
2. Add a restart level into the game
3. Add upgrades for the player and maybe different kinds of followers
4. Consistent art style

Also, a bug that happened to me was I got almost all of the followers in the game and my demon grew too big for the room. I couldn't jump or get to the final boss on that playthrough.

Great work guys!

AM_Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:54am

Thanks for the awesome feedback guys. Sorry about those annoying bugs, hopefully you still have the patience to play the final boss fight after bugs :P

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:12pm

I saw that coming all along :P But yea i finished the game (well done on making it fun so that I played it through). There is an obvious strategy which is leaving all your followers at the beginning until you kill everything but then the last level kind of make it harder to do that I guess. It was a very funny game and the mechanics is solid. With more polish on the graphics it will be great :)

I died on the last boss, I don't know how do you not die.

muffty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:16pm

+1 for 'win game instantly' and 'cheat' button :D

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Neat and interesting concept, mechanics are pretty solid. I like the sort of strategic aspect of keeping the followers alive by giving them orders. Good work.

AM_Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Thanks! We're aware of the whole "leave your followers behind" strategy and couldn't come up with a quick and easy solution to remedy it. It was partially fixed by forcing you to let them go through first. As for the boss fight, if you save your shield for when the boss starts using his lazer barrage, you can just stand still and fire at his turrets. Either way, we hope you enjoyed it and any criticism is welcome!

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Great work! I enjoyed playing your game. Nice mechanics

AM_Games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:03pm

We just realized that we forgot a Linux build. Will edit soon.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Neat little game! :)
The art feels a bit disconnected, there's like three completely different art style thrown together. I've read your description and I don't mind that you've used asset packs and such, but maybe you should try to make them feel a bit more connected. Right now, I find it's a bit distracting from the gameplay itself (which is great, by the way!)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Nice, interesting concept. Some bugs here and there, but it's a cool game overall.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Pretty cool game. I laughed a lot when I saw the followers!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Idea is very nice, but technical execution is not so good.

utgarda says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Dark humor kinda saves the day :)

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Really fun game, I loved how you combined bullet hell and lemmings mechanics especially. I think you should spend more time on graphics and sound design next time and you might have a winning title. Great game.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:12am

Nice one, this definitely has merit if it was polished a bit more over time - a few issues to work out; once I defeated the boss (by cheating) I didnt get to see it blow up - there should be a screen at the end. Also, bullets shouldn't go through a non vulnerable spot of an enemy - they should bounce off or have some other visual clue that damage is not being done.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]