Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Midnight Rendezvous

by squarebridges - Jam Entry

A game by Maike Vierkant / @Maibbit (her first!) and Felix Laurie von Massenbach / @erbridge.

Drag and drop characters to find the prefect match, and grow the household, filling it with babies!

Best experienced fullscreen! Also compatible with touch screens!

---

Please excuse the speech bubble clipping issues on the top floor...

Sounds were retrieved from freesound.org, under the CC0 licence.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#59Innovation(Jam)3.93
#202Humor(Jam)3.32
#262Graphics(Jam)3.91
#475Overall(Jam)3.36
#564Mood(Jam)3.16
#735Fun(Jam)2.89
#821Theme(Jam)3.27

Comments

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:18am

Really like the concept here. Graphics are fantastic!
I feel like this could be expanded into a full game where you have to match up an entire hotel/apartment building.

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:22am

Nice entry, was a bit unclear what constitutes a match (just persons, do they have to be in particular rooms?), not a lot of time to try different combinations on each go.

Lovely graphics and mood

Sokar92 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:23am

hahaha 3 babies!!! Interesting idea! =) good job

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:26am

Very cute game and awesome art! I wish the night lasted a bit longer... My best was 5 babies

pkenney says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:52am

I managed only four babies. Challenging to look at all the details on a timer!

DecayConstant says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:55am

4 babies. Not bad...not bad.

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:00am

I think you find a very potentially influential concept here. It serves puzzles, control, and story-telling in an very innovative and perfect way. Awesome!

Acerio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:05am

Some couples enjoyed sex in a room with a baby.
10/10

KZdev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:35am

Interesting concept, it feels like the time passes too quickly to really enjoy what the characters are saying to each other though. I wouldn't mind seeing an extended version!

alvaromartin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:25am

Really original game. Really good graphics. Great job.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:25am

good concept and smart to make it short so it didn't spoil. would have liked more indication toward preferences and maybe a rotating cast.

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:32am

finally a baby! nice one.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:48am

Very unique concept. The night went a bit quick for my taste, but I still managed five.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:31am

I got 6 babies :). Nice interpretation of the theme. Great fun and I can see this grow with more levels and pairings into a fun little game. Great work

Skywilly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:37am

6 babies ! Very fun idea ;)

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:08am

Nice concept!

David Cookie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Really good graphics and concept! The only issue is that we don't really know how to find the perfect match, it's a little bit hazardous. But overall enjoyable :)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:21am

Sweet graphics, would have been nice to have more indication of likes/dislikes.
Cool!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:23am

Quite hard to fill all the rooms with babies but I do like your interpretation of the theme.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Great concept. And congrats for the art !

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:35am

Great concept, everybody lies! Love makers. 5/5 innovation.

yhsper says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:11am

Hey, 5 babies! Is that bad? :) I loved shuffling people around, the timer seemed a bit harsh but I had a quick and fun experience. Congratulations!

Afendar says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:09pm

XD 3 babies ! Nice concept graphism are awesome ! good job :)

Jan 12, 2016 @ 9:25pm

Very interesting, nice graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/lBXur6KZCzs

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]