Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Child Spirit

by Oneiric Worlds - Jam Entry

Wouhou! My first Ludum Dare :)

The "Child Spirit" is a simple non linear runner game where you play a fox. You must find animals and get back the Forest Spirit who is leaving.

GOAL:
Find as many animals you can and get to Moo, the forest spirit before he leaves. The goal is more or less in line with the "growing" theme, as you're supposed to grow a herd of the forest animals.
Beware, the game is bit difficult, and you may have to play it a few times to find the best path to catch enough animals to save the forest.

CONTROLS:
Two button controls:
SPACE or S : jump
RETURN/ENTER or D : change direction
You can change controls if you want to in the downloads for Windows, MacOS and Linux, but not on the Web version.


I made everything from scratch except for the soundscape.
I had many projects to complete this week end, so I could "only" work 25h on the game... I wish I could add more animals, more sounds, better music...
Anyways!
Development in C# with Unity
Graphics with Blender & Krita
Music with LMMS

For the curious guys, don't hesitate to check the game I'm currently developing: "A Thief's Melody" is a 3D cartoon adventure/stealth game with a contemplative atmosphere. Check it out on http://www.oneiricworlds.com


EDIT: Just fixed a few display problems for 5/4 screens and made a more readable HUD.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#134Mood(Jam)3.79
#153Graphics(Jam)4.13
#154Audio(Jam)3.70
#231Fun(Jam)3.53
#231Overall(Jam)3.63
#360Theme(Jam)3.83
#542Humor(Jam)2.61
#631Innovation(Jam)2.97

Comments

dustyroom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:05am

A bit hard to get used to space / enter controls. Maybe make jump an up arrow instead of Space. And rotate with space. Apart from that, it's a beautiful and fun game.

manabreak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:06am

This was really awesome! I enjoyed every last bit of it. The controls were done really well, and the graphics are breathtaking. I just couldn't save the forest. :(

dustyroom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:06am

A bit hard to get used to space / enter controls. Maybe make jump an up arrow instead of Space. And rotate with space. Apart from that, it's a beautiful and fun game.

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:20am

Placement of animals breaks the run but the game works overall. I think I cannot get back to the second animal if I miss it. It lacked a little bit of feeling of grip to be honest, felt like hovering more than running. It is probably because of animation. I think it would be also more interesting if there were more interactions other than running around but I know, no time. Don't forget to save the forest!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:57am

The art is really well done. I liked it.

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:00pm

Runs pretty smooth, but took a while before I understood what was the point of the game.. Then I noticed that there is time running at the bottom of the screen. :D. All in all, good graphics+smooth running game, but I would modify the game goal to be something other than the time + collecting.. :) ! this could work easily as a good platform game.

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:02pm

BEAUTIFUL

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Fabulous, really good graphics, really smooth controls for me - they fit with the theme well, despite what the others said, quite the impressive work for one man.
If I am to be picky indeed I would also say that SPACE/ENTER is a bit of an odd choice since they don't go well together. Any other two close-by buttons would've done better.

Other than that, well done!


Cheers,
Ionut(Tyrants.not.found team)

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Fantastic game! I love the art and the music is great! The gameplay was fun, but the level design made the game a bit too hard. I just couldn't save the forest :(

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Thanks a lot for all your comments :) I might add other controls (like S & D or up & ctrl, or whatever) to make it easier as many of you seem to find it cumbersome.

qwetro says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:23am

5-star! Love the art and the atmosphere you've build, great game. But just couldn't save the forest, really wanna know the end.

Yword says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:39am

Wow, this is really polished and relaxing! The control is very smooth and the graphics is very beautiful too. Well done!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:19am

I liked it a lot, but I found myself caught up in collecting animals instead of paying attention to the time, so I ended up losing.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:26am

Had pleasure from cute hares and fox! Thx a lot!

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Gorgeous art style, it's wonderful! I liked the jump and turn mechanics quite a lot, despite not being a big platform gamer. I couldn't find Moo in the end, but I collected like 20 animals. It was weird they were blocking the screen but hey, I don't understand the spirit world ;)

OwT says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:36pm

The forest will die... I couldn't save the forest, Moo isn't taking responsibility of it, I can't trust him. It was fun to play, graphics are really beautiful and making a mysterius, forest mood.That game is quite hard and the screen is too slow, or the fox is too fast, it isn't coordinate very well. But very nice idea and gameplay!

Ryusui says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:45am

Absolutely beautiful - and just as unforgiving. XD

I think the game could benefit greatly from some kind of "animal radar" - like an arrow pointing to the nearest one. It would cut down greatly on the annoying trial-and-error aspect. Also maybe a more intuitive, platformer-friendly button combination than space and enter?

PieChronicles says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:06pm

nicely done runner, enjoyed the graphics

Ybalrid says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:33pm

This is awesome. I LOVE the graphics!!

Didi says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 12:43am

Clever Cute And foxy! Noce work nice overal game, hope u talk more about dev later. cy@

Jan 1, 2016 @ 6:00pm

A nice little runner, with good graphics (the animals in the herd are a bit too cartoonish and colourful, in my opinion, but Moo and the background graphics are great) and excellent audio. The plot is kind of cheesy, but the gameplay is very good. I think this game could be a hit with kids.

I'd like it if the rabbits ran after you rather than hovering (the birds hovering makes sense, after all). Also, a bug: some of the animals appear to be invisible.

I can't really figure out how to win (if I try to ran fast, I don't collect enough animals, while if I backtrack, I lose Moo). Still, one of the most enjoyable games this LD in terms of gameplay.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]