Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hydra Height

by EightPercentStudios - Jam Entry

Take on the perilous hydra as it rises up from the ground. Get to the top, but be prepared for the hydra to grow when you chop off its head.

- Fixed windows and linux downloads (forgot to include data folder).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#628Audio(Jam)2.67
#785Graphics(Jam)2.88
#929Innovation(Jam)2.40
#985Theme(Jam)2.81
#1001Overall(Jam)2.69
#1047Fun(Jam)2.25
#2001Coolness30%

Comments

lastninja2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:53am

Enjoyed this one ;)

Gornova says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:19pm

there is an error for windows version on running:

There should be 'win_x86_Data'
folder next to the executable

CremaGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:20pm

The Windows build doesn't open. The error:

"There should be 'win_x86_Data'
folder next to the executable"

I guess you forgot zip something.

Coomzy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:20pm

No '_Data' folder on the windows link, didn't work for me :(

Yvanor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:26pm

You had forget the win_x86_Data folder :3

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Whoops...fixed the windows and linux links, I believe the mac version doesn't need a folder

OwT says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:44pm

First, you wrote "hyda" in the game, not "hydra", second... What is going on, what kind of drugs did you take to make this game? xd I don't know what to say, intriguing... But highly disturbing.

someone says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Linux version is also missing the data folder.
I tried using the data folder from the OS/X download but then it complained about the Mono library.

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Fun game! Visuals were nice and the music fitted the atmosphere. The learning curve went from easy to nearly impossible a bit too quickly. Animations were very cool!

Kushulain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:59pm

I like the crazy ambience you set up. Good job. Haven't felt down to the bottom once. I mean, I did, but it was on purpose to see where it lead to. My game went really slow around the tenth level or so. I couldn't get further, the camera weren't moving.

LazyDev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:00pm

I don't get what is going on. I climbed up to red platform. Controls stopped working and gameover. Is this some sort of bug?

Volatile Dove says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Nice! I like the ugly dripping hydra.
I reached the grey slime (the second picture in the screenshots above), and the game starts again from the beginning. Not sure if I failed (then I don't get it what I should do) or won (then it's too easy IMHO).

CremaGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:09am

Now it works! Thank you

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]