Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Human Invasion

by zamotany - Jam Entry

Actually, the first finished game, follows 2 buttons theme. The idea is to invade an alien planet.

How to play:
Use W and S to jump up and down. Soldier only fires from laser gun when jumping. Avoid enemies, laser beams and obstacles. Get as many points as you can. Every 500 points, you get +1 bonus life, but difficulty is increased.
P.S.: Rocks block you, so avoid beeing stuck between them. Also you cannot jump up if rock is above you and analogously the other way round.

Might be a good idea to turn the volume a little bit down.

Minimal resolution: 1024x567.
IE and Edge are currently not supported.

Art: Adrianna Kiszczyńska
Audio: Damian Czajka
Code: Konstanty Misiak, Paweł Trysła

Game was written in Phaser.io (JavaScript).

@Update: Fixed player animation.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#310Theme(Jam)3.90
#474Graphics(Jam)3.54
#499Audio(Jam)3.04
#629Fun(Jam)3.02
#658Humor(Jam)2.39
#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#681Innovation(Jam)2.90
#788Overall(Jam)3.00

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:47am

Cool Game! I like the concept of moving and shooting with the same buttons!

Logicon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:57am

Great use of two button controls!

NecroMac says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:05am

Good game :) just need more enemies!

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:12am

Pretty fun game. I think I'd like it better if your guy just automatically shot all the time, but other than that, a really good effort! :)

micky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:27am

nice game, I failed to invade the planet ! haha

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Really good graphics! I also liked the idea of shooting and moving with the same button. It became very difficult after a while though.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:20pm

I agree with JamesMowery that 'autofire' would work better than firing on move, but pretty fun!

zamotany says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:23pm

We intentionally make fire on move because it adds little strategic element to the gameplay, it's harder to kill alien in that way. It also would be to easy with autofire. But, thank you, we appreciate feedback <:

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Interesting idea. Once you get used to the controls its very effective

Nizar89 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Congrats for completing it ;).
The game is fun, even if it feels a bit too "simplistic".

Diventurer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Nice use of two buttons theme.

Gipzo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Nice game. At first time i got stuck between rocks and enemies :(
But then i found that i could switch lanes constantly and it made the game much easier :)
By the way, enemies could kill other enemies too )

zamotany says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:50pm

But enemies can kill eachother :D

AdamAlexander says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Fun game, interesting use of 2 button controls. Took me awhile to realise the rocks were blocking me.

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Moving and shooting at the same time is a good idea, but it needs something more added to it, cause as it is, its not very compelling. Animations could use some work too.

zamotany says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:17pm

@CustomPhase Yeah, but none of us known how to make decent looking animations, however we will do our best to fix that.

psychonull says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Nice game. Cool graphics and good use of two button controls! congrats!!!

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Art is super cool. love the the shoot every time you go up or down mechanic of it. Wish there was killer music to match the graphics. I think that would have set this over the top in the best way.

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Good fun short little game

PanKamil says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Brilliant idea, and great execution. Honestly it, doesn't even feel like it needs more enemy types - obstalces on the way totally make this game, forcing you to play the strangest hide and seek.

loxo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Interesting game concept with coupling jumping and shooting. The only way to win seems to be to jump around all the time, sadly sometimes there is no way to go, because rocks are blocking the player.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Nice infinity runner. The soldier should have the same speed in all the platforms (the speed of the middle one was great).
Nice animations and I liked how you only shoot when you change platform.
Great game!

f7f5 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:21pm

My best was 2262.

This seemed too simplistic at first sight but then you realize there's a cool strategic mechanic behind it with the obstacles and having to control the speed of the soldier using the parallax scrolling lanes.

Loved the art. Well done.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Nice use of two button controls. Art was crisp. Great entry!

gallerdude says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Cool, but it needs some variety.

Larzan says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:47pm

Very simple mechanics, but very nice endless runner, looks very polishedd, fun to play.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]