Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Weed : The Incremental Game

by Wicked7000 - Jam Entry

Hello Everyone! ,
So here is my game for LD34 Its my first time doing Ludum dare and Personally I think I did pretty well for being a day late in as well as being solo , the game is a simple Idle game that is based on growing Weed/Pot its simple but it was fun to see how quickly I could code something that would be of a decent quality!

Update: I'm currently working on a Web version of the game but I have to remove the save feature from the build (As you of course can't have file saving online so once I have that done I'll upload it)

How it works (HOW TO PLAY) / FAQ:
-Buy structures (Garden,Greenhouse,Growing Room,Warehouse)
to produce Weed these each produce at different rates as well
as increment their prices based on how many you have purchased
each also has an upgrade to increase their produce speed.

-Buy Dealers in order to sell the weed you need dealers these again
increment based on how many you have purchased and are also upgradable
(These are the cubes that wonder around the map).


Anyways Have fun and thanks for downloading
- Jason Attwood (@Wicked7000)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#442Theme(Jam)3.75
#528Humor(Jam)2.63
#602Fun(Jam)3.05
#705Innovation(Jam)2.85
#717Graphics(Jam)3.05
#788Overall(Jam)3.00
#934Mood(Jam)2.45
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

fergarram says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:42am

I love weed

WebFreak001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Add a linux version please

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Sorry, I can't play Windows games.

Efuvex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Any chance of a mac version? I think unity can build for mac even if you're on windows. I built for windows without a windows computer.

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Pretty funny and actually plays well. Good one.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Can't play windows games. :-(

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:13pm

This is made in Unity, right? Please provide Web or Linux version.

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:16pm

People like numbers going up.

Wukkopi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:23pm

This is actually the best game of this type that i have ever played. I like the fact that even this is "idlegame" this has some mechanics on balancing production over selling.

the-arrival says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:27pm

i didn´t got the mechanics quite. at first i thought that you need the dealers to geth money out of the stuff you are growing. The Weedcounter also pointed in that direction. but after buying loads of dealers i can´t get this money to shrink at all. also dealers have no effect on the weed/s counter, so what do they do then?

Wicked7000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Sorry I had to fix a big (Hence me taking down the Linux and Mac versions I'll add them back within the hour sorry about that)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:12pm

A cool take on the idle game genre! It was satisfying to see my income growing along with my weed and balancing gardens to dealers. Great work!

blohod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Nice incrementing but a bit slow and boring, needs sound and better graphics too.
judged on stream at http://www.twitch.tv/meep706, watch the highlight to see me play

Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Quite fun! Couldn't work out what warehouses did though. Didn't seem to increase production or selling? I was able to get all my dealers to collide in a massive conga line into each other by building a warehouse that jutted out of the area with the rest of the buildings.

doitle says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:53pm

The throttling mechanic from the dealers is pretty novel. I haven't seen that yet in a idle game like this before. I think the tuning of some of the prices and things could use some work but that's expected for a LD entry. Also I couldn't figure out what the warehouses function was. I built a few but didn't see any impact on my dealers or growth rate. It also would be nice to see the selling rate for the dealers to be able to tell when your supply is outpacing your selling capacity. Good game.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:51pm

You’re doing great!

Gunzil says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:23am

Cute game, good weed particles effects. The pacing is a bit slow for a jam game, a higher speed of production / consumption would be nice. I like seeing all the dealers walking around the area.

gloim says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:44am

really neat and clean :)

Crowbeak says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:36am

I am an active non-fan of weed humor, but you did something that most incremental games don't, which is have a resource being traded for money and make it worth the player's while to keep that in mind when deciding what to upgrade.

Jan 11, 2016 @ 12:14am

Well made game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/EnuG74cyOfk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]