Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Phantom Cell

by Suui - Jam Entry

Be ready! There are some invisible enemies lying around!

Thanks to your radar, you are able to see them for a second, every 3 seconds. Check it out, because they are moving back and forth, and sometimes stop.

The blue cells allow you to grow. For every 3 cells consumed you will grow a little, and thus gain the ability to shoot a projectile for each growth.

Shoot 'em out to gain some extra score points, the blue cells you retrieve also give you some score, and finally your time is added to get the complete score.

Good luck and have fun!

Known bug: Sometimes you kill an enemy but you can't see it dying. If the sound is played, he is certainly dead, it's just that you don't see the visual :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#132Overall(Jam)3.79
#137Innovation(Jam)3.72
#175Audio(Jam)3.63
#254Mood(Jam)3.56
#295Fun(Jam)3.44
#573Theme(Jam)3.61
#656Graphics(Jam)3.17
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:01am

That was pretty clever. The invisible sharks get pretty hard.

djfariel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:07am

The game was really well presented and I really enjoyed the soundtrack. That being said, the inability to know where enemies were going to be while at the same time being in basically constant motion made progression rather difficult. Also, only have 1 projectile at a time at a cost of 3 powerups made it difficult to get a useful shot off. Mostly its the fact that your enemy is invisible most of the time that got me killed. Still, a great submission. Thanks for posting!

gkxd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:02am

The invisible enemies are a bit difficult to get used to.

Also, it seems that there are safe spots in the corners of the screen where you can get high scores without doing anything.

Suui says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:07am

Thanks for the feedback. Seems that it may be a bit too difficult.

Yes, the corners are pretty safe and easy high scores, we may limit the player movement to the center to solve it someday as we haven't got more time.

Just go all in and keep taking blue cells and killing enemies :P

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:12pm

The radar mechanic is pretty cool. The sounds is good too. My only complaint is that maneuverability of the cell is pretty low.

csanyk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:10am

I kept hitting A and D, but I couldn't tell if or how I was moving. So, couldn't really play it.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:57pm

The gameplay is good fast paced fun.
The music is also great. I'd like to know the artist and the song.

In other games I've seen with a similar radar mechanic the camera and the radar follow the player character. This combined with a level that wraps around the edges gets rid of the corner problem.

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Interesting idea with invisibility! Wish there were more bullets for one blue cell, because with the invisible enemy it's easy to miss.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]