Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Conga Master

by BubsyPoochies - Jam Entry

Conga Master, a two button growing game developed for LudumDare34!

****Description****

Come on, shake your body baby, do the conga, I know you can't control yourself any longer!

Can you get everyone in the Secret Flamingo Dance Club to join you in the ultimate conga? Get everybody dancing to the rhythm of your hips and make the longest conga mankind has ever seen... are you up to the Final Conga challenge?

Don't bump on dancers or they will get annoyed and... beware of stinky pigs disguised as cool clubbers! If your conga stinks, you will lose momentum!


****Controls****

A: Steer left
S: Steer Right
A&S: Turbo Conga


****How to Play****

Dance near other people to gain their attention and trigger their Conga Meter. After a while, they will join your awesome conga and it will become even more awesome.

Your momentum will decrease if you don't get new members to join your conga. But congas are hungry for new dancers, so the larger your conga, the more dancers it will require to keep up the momentum!

Don't bump on people or they will become annoyed and will refuse to join you!

Avoid Pigs in disguise! They look cool, but they stink and will make you lose momentum if they get in your conga!


****Information****

Game Made using Unity by David Jaumandreu (@DavidJaumandreu), Miguel Murat (@Xanday), Xavi Peña (@Xavier_PF) and Xavi Heras (@XaviHeras). Awesome music by Juanitos.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#5Theme(Jam)4.64
#5Fun(Jam)4.32
#10Humor(Jam)4.36
#21Overall(Jam)4.22
#25Mood(Jam)4.29
#26Innovation(Jam)4.11
#110Graphics(Jam)4.24

Comments

AndreasL says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:24am

Really fun game! Love the idea of cogna based snake-like.
Managed to get to 19 before I lost. Stupid pig ruined my run!
Great job, guys!

Ludipe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:29am

Hey guys!

Thought this was pretty hilarious. Music was very catchy and the art was cool.

I think mechanics lacked a bit of depth, the game didn't feel that fun to play or challenging. I thought once I got more people it would become quite hard to move around, but I got 12 people to follow me and it didn't feel that hard.

I liked the feel of the game, moving around the disco, with the catchy tunes and people clapping. It just needs to be a bit more challenging.

Great job! :)

trykondev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:06pm

The audio and art are really great -- nice work

Dreyan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Music was very catchy! Thoroughly enjoyed it, however I thought that sometimes it maybe took a tad bit too much time to get others to join the line.

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Really fun and very innovative. I loved the animations on the game too :D

Shurty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Hey !

Nice game ! I like the humor and the mood of the game :). Art and sound are really good too

Nice work men

dodormeur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Very cool game, nice music and art !

Didi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Yeah SAMBA! Hugs from Rio de Janeiro M8! That made me smile a lot!

Shurty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:32pm

Really fun game, the idea is really great and everything is well done! Awesome job guys !

UgiWithAKnife says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:34pm

What could possibly go wrong! :D Really fun and positive. The characters are hilarious, good job guys!

vidarn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:36pm

I loved it!
Super fun and simply adorable. One of the most enjoyable LD games I've played so far, amazing job :)

Robin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:37pm

What an amazing game! Pretty hard though, I only got up to 22 conga-ers. Very addicting and nice graphics!

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Very funny and creative game! I really liked the music and the humor of the game. I wish the player's movements were a little faster.

CremaGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Wow, really loved your game, possible the best one I've played yet. Congratulations, fellas!

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Damn! This one made me laugh in real life, maybe the best one so far. Such a vibe to it.

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:17pm

This was hilarious! It has a great feel and vibe, but gameplay could use some more depth.
Great job guys.

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Awesome game! A fun twist on the Snake idea. Great pixel art as well.

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Oh Yeah! So Funky.

triello says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:36pm

LOL! Great work! Really funny! I love the music.

Thanks for the feedback on Parallax too. We will work more on the project, specially on enemy IA.

sararyCow says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:50pm

This game turns you on on a second! Good job on the mood. With a few elements you make a lot on screen, not bad at all! :)

Yamzho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:02pm

That game is genius ! Well done ! Now, I need to dance ! Woooohooooo !

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:27pm

I loved it! The music choice was genius and the game is so fun! :D Good job.

Miltage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Hahaha, this is amazing! I love the concept.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Great game! Loved the whole disco/conga theme. Animations look totally rad.
If I would have to suggest anything it would be to speed the game up a bit. The start of a round can feel a bit slow, especially when you play the game more than once.

Didn't work in fullscreen for me unfortunately (Windows)

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:08pm

I love it! Really funny game. The humor and mood are really nice. Next time you can try with this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ODKTITUPusM :D

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:20pm

We've been coding with that in loop :D

https://twitter.com/BubsyPoochies/status/675627616997646336

Rodaja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Aw, man... the world needs more games about conga.

This was so much fun just seeing the little guys doing the conga. There were so many different people with their own moves and all...

I found it somehow just ended after a while, as there wasn't too much feedback when you did wrong (the pigs look so cool I wanted all of them to join my conga).

Great job!

BioBazard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:38pm

it was a very fun game ^^ !

hgouveia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Source codes?

AdamsMcCall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:40pm

The best game I played in this jam ! :D

lodur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Very funny, I was singing the song all the time that I was playing. CONGA!

WitchLake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:47pm

One of my favorites games so far!!! SO MUCH FUN!!! XD SAMBA!!!!

Donar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:15pm

One of my favourites so far. Not because of the great mechanics but because it's creative, funny and pretty well produced.

rijnswand says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Very fun game! The music and animations are awesome.

MalyTimi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Now I know what I'll be dancing in the new year! "What can possibly go wrong?" :D
Excellent music and animations !

Raius says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:14am

This was incredible, I was sitting like an idiot smiling and chuckling to myself the whole time.

Also have to point out I love how you show what the movement mechanic is when you're picking who to play as before the actual game even starts, it's a small detail but it's genius. I'm looking forward to your future games :)

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:01am

Fantastic game, you know how to put two themes together! The game is fun, animations so cute. Great job!

koocachookies says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:47am

5/5 *__* Awesome!

TeamDromedare says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:46pm

This game is awesome. Enough said.

Flip120 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Very funny game. It's a snake based conga!. Good Job!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:07pm

¡Simplemente me encanta! Gran implementación de "dos controles" y "creciendo". Una idea divertidísima muy bien ejecutada. Enhorabuena!

Amoeba says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Just impossible stop smiling meanwhile you play this game! Very funny and...definitely I'll be a conga master for the new year! And I love the music, I can't get it out of my head!
I like the pig too, although it can destroy the conga but who cares, it's so cool.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Such a great little game! The graphics are very good and the sound is fitting... I need Holidays! :-)
Very well done!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:20am

Perfect 5 here. You've nailed it in every category, and the game looks and feels awesome. Now, if you'll excuse me, I have some more conga to dance.

¡Enhorabuena! :D

ohmaigawd says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:07am

Well that was innovative :D One of the most hilariously unexpected games of this jam! Also I love how you integrated 2 button controls scheme in the menus. 5/5 keep up the good work!

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Many thanks for all the comments and feedback! We're really thankful you took the time to create some congas ;) Some of the features we had thought of had to be left behind due to the time restriction, but we decided to keep the conga project alive to make a more complete version :D Big thanks!

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:42am

Super fun game! I lol'd very high when I understoo dwhat I had to do! =DDD

Very innovative idea! The music is awesome and the pixel art is great! Congrats guys!

Husky says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:29am

I love this game! it's so humor and hilarious lol.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:22pm

What a great, funny and unice game! Scores in all categories!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:20pm

NICE ONE! already addicted to the funky music. Nice Art... wall to wall a good funny little game.

What could possibly go wrong?... absolutely nothing

Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:10am

Really enjoyed this one. All the aspects just seemed to come together for me. It's fun just seeing the big snake of people forming behind you.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:51am

Loved it! Loved the graphics (and music). I'm assuming the music isn't yours because I can't rate on the audio but it was good. Very funny too. Awesome job guys! c:

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Good job!
Innovative, fun and well done, what else ?

Drauthius says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Pretty sweet. Missed a bit of depth though.

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:04pm

A game really funny, fantastic job!

JoseArias says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Best game that I have played this LD

sonelliot says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Amazing game! Music is super catchy and it is very addictive. I found that if you bump into a table you can keep your conga line still and attract all of the nearby dancers. I wonder whether you should penalize the player for doing this by draining momentum faster? Definitely one of my favourites so far!

local minimum says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:24pm

The only thing I can't understand is why you wouldn't want to have pigs in the conga. But seriously well made game. Took me a try before I figured out how to circle people to lure them into the line. There might be a need for some tweaking though to make it perfect as a game because it was really hard (if not impossible) to come back from capturing a pig. It could also be interesting if the entire conga helped draw people near but that the momentum was dropping faster the longer the conga got.

Herzucco says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Funny, but hard to control. But still funny

Dayko says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Very fun entry, the graphics & animations are great :D

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 12:25am

So COOL!!!!!

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 4:04pm

This is the most fun games so far, great audio and graphics

rojo says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:58pm

Nice remix of snake, and a great take on the theme! I think some refinements on the obstacles would help keep you on your toes as you conga for glory.

yoshigaimer says ...
Jan 7, 2016 @ 5:16am

JODER COMO MIERDAS JUEGO ESTO!!!(LO DIGO EN EL SENTIDO) DONDE COÑO JUEGO ESTO

lokita0456 says ...
Jan 7, 2016 @ 9:41pm

DISCULPEN ,ALGUIEN ME PUEDE DECIR COMO DEMONIOS JUEGO ESTO????

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]