Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Fight Boý

by ssodelta - Jam Entry

Fight Boy is stuck in a strange dojo, and can't find his way out. He is swarmed with attacks and must fight back. With some techniques learned from the Grand Master himself, he might have a chance to become the next Grand Master!

Use a combination of LEFT ARROW (<-) and RIGHT ARROW (->) to unleash fierce and precise attacks on the endless horde of vicious foes.

Theme: Two Button Game

--CONTROLS

Left = <-
Right = ->

<-: Move left
->: Move right

<-->: Move left (and punch)
-><-: Move right (and punch)

<-<-: Slide (left)
->->: Slide (right)

<--><-: Jump kick (left)
-><-->: Jump kick (right)

--
Made in 72 hours by Nikolaj Ignatieff (ssodelta.wordpress.com) and Thomas Carlsen for Ludum Dare 34.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#310Humor(Jam)3.03
#428Theme(Jam)3.77
#466Audio(Jam)3.11
#522Fun(Jam)3.15
#603Innovation(Jam)3.00
#739Overall(Jam)3.08
#760Mood(Jam)2.89
#806Graphics(Jam)2.85

Comments

lastninja2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:55am

Enjoyed this one ;)

tweedle says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:37am

Great use of the theme! Enjoyed this quite a bit. This shows how much depth there can be with just two controls.

Dianouille says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:37pm

I love the use of theme ! The idea of use 2 buttons to makes combo is aweful. But I don't succeed with that. Maybe add a tutorial lvl could be fine. Good job !

Masuno says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:05pm

This... is odd. I can see it being fun for a while, yet it seems like it'll get stale before long. But it's really hard, too.

Either way, my scores added up to give it 4/5, so despite my worries for this game, it's pretty good. I think it can be extended (add some bosses, some enemies that take multiple hits to take down? :D) to make a pretty good arcade-style web fighting game.

Jump kicks are too powerful, though, and punches a bit too unwieldy for me to use. I'm able to take down a bunch of enemies using just the jump kicks, and didn't feel a need to use punches at all. It makes the game seem too easy--and in fact it was my attempts to punch (and enemies pulling combos on me) that made it seem hard.

I really don't know what to think of this, in the end. D:

Aaants says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Cool. Wrath of the red M&M :)

mukult says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Hahaha!! Nice art...and the sounds! :D

anv says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Pretty nice, mostly carried by combos mechanic. Enemies tend to stack in lines, maybe they shouldn't block each other?

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Great use of two button controls!

PixelMonkey says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:21am

Very nice! You got a lot out of just two buttons here, and the gameplay is nice and fast-paced.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:49am

This was quite awesome! Getting to do the correct move took me a bit of time but once adjusted to EASY mode I got it down fairly quickly and then went back to hard for more fun. As a streets of rage fan, I just loved this :)

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:00am

Nice! You got a lot of combos out of just two buttons, but I mostly just jump kicked non stop.

carlsommer says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:10am

Very fun : ) It was fun having a pile of dead enemies lying around after a very successful jump kick.

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Great use of the two button controls theme!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Pretty cool game! The moves are a bit hard to pull off, though, and dashes are the easiest to do, so that's all I did. And I like how the belt changes color the more people you kill, nice touch!

kmakai says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:24pm

This was a smart use of the theme, and you did a great job making things feel "complete" (music, sound effects, background, etc) with such a short amount of time. Congrats!

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Nice! I really liked how this felt like street fighter with the combos and such.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:53pm

It was really hard to kill that guys, but I killed some of them, I liked when they died screaming haha really funny. Great job!

Rocketship says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:19pm

I thought you were very clever with the two button control with this game. Great idea to combo your two buttons to make different moves. However in a fighting game like this, the controls should be so spot on accurate. Here they were hard to pull off when you were walking and it bothered me. I understand it's because of the theme, but it did hinder the gameplay a bit. Great innovation and ideas of how to use the 2 button theme still, impressed me.

dlowe says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:31pm

This was great! Thanks for the fun :)

CarlsenSmart says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:53am

Waaaaow !! Awesome sounds and graphics! :V

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]