Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Picky Eater

by Trash Games - Jam Entry

How to play!:

Eat food that will make you fat!
Toss food that will make you not fat or unhealthy!

Fill your fat meter to full to win the game!
Fill your poison meter to full to lose the game!

Use Z to eat and X to smack the food away. Be on the lookout for super duper rare foods, because they are cool.

You are a fat king who needs to eat fattening foods to show his dominance. Little creatures called meeps are bringing you plenty of offerings, but be careful, because they are stupid and don't know what you human types eat.

Fatty foods like pizza and cake will make you grow. Healthy foods like celery and carrots will make you less fat. Poisonous foods like mushrooms will probably kill you.

Once upon a time, there was a rich and powerful king. He ruled over a vast kingdom, boundless and plentiful, where the peasants were fat with meats, crops, and ale and the lords were even fatter. . .

One fateful morning, as the king laid into his second breakfast, he couldn't help but notice how glorious his reign had become. The sun was peeking over the hills and valleys on the edge of his empire, and he thought his papa would be proud of the king he had become. He sighed, content, and happily gobbled down the last of his red velvet cake. As he looked up to call the maid, he noticed something peculiar. A hole, about the size of a cantaloupe, plopped into existence near his throne. Gripped by
a heavy fear of the unknown and unable to get up, he flailed about and cried for maid louder. It was too late. No help was coming. Within moments, the king was consumed by the void. . .

Sometime later, the king awoke. He was in a throne room, and even though it resembled his own, it was not. Something was off, and he did not like it. he crawled up onto the new throne, confused, and waited grumpily for his servants to brief him on the situation. The king waited for what felt like years before hearing a small knock on the chamber door.

"It is about time you came to give me a briefing! you ingrates need to learn how to serve the kin-- WHAHHH!!!!" the king flopped in horror as the supposed servant entered the room. It was a colorful little creature, with small beety eyes, no hands, and a stupid look on
its face.

"MEEP." said the creature.

The king did not know how to react, so naturally he asserted his dominance.

"Hmph. Indeed, peasant. You know, you should really bow in the presence of royalty!"

"MEEP?" the creature asked. The creature looked at the king confused as he gestured for it to kneel."meep. . . ?" it bargained, as it slowly lowered itself to the floor.

"GOOD. Now bring me my mid-morning seconds-ies!"

". . . haaa. . meep." it sighed in agreement and went out to fetch some food. There as a problem, though. The Meep didn't know what fat, pasty, smelly things liked to eat. It asked a few of its friends, and they didn't know what it was talking about, but it convinced them to round up some food and bring it to the castle just in case the lard creature didn't like its first offering. . .

The thing with Meeps, though, is they have a LOT of friends. . .

A game by Clark Chambers and Ryan Kline
with Music by Tyler Montgomery
Made in 72 hours for Ludum Dare 34

WE LOVE YOU.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#18Fun(Jam)4.16
#19Humor(Jam)4.21
#66Audio(Jam)4.00
#109Overall(Jam)3.84
#118Mood(Jam)3.83
#199Innovation(Jam)3.59
#225Theme(Jam)4.00
#346Graphics(Jam)3.74
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:28am

I liked this! it was fun, simple, and pretty self explanatory: not a great deal of explanation needed. Never really figured out how to win the game but don't care: it was fun!

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:45am

I like the artwork, great job !

xodene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:49am

Graphics are cute and the game is pretty fun! Nice work on the music and sound effects, 4/5 in that regard.

serge_rgb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:54am

Fun game :) Took me a while to figure out that I was supposed to *fatten* the king, because I didn't read the description

benjammin1391 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:06am

You find a rhythm in the game of just spamming Z and X while food goes flying everywhere. Its really soothing in a strange way.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:13am

noooooo! i almost beat :C
also i have to disagree. CARROTS ARE GOOD TOO! >:[
i think i spent 10 mins playing this. lol 10/10

Nooner Bear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:21am

Crunchy, munchy, delightful, divine. I just love eating all of the time.

varygoode says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Wow, this is awesome, dudes!

oz2mura says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:16am

Woo, that was a challenge, finally beat it. Liked the cute art style, catchy audio, and overall humor (was I supposed to eat the little person?) The right level of difficulty that kept me playing quite a few times.

gloim says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:06am

made me laugh :) great entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]