Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Destination: Gravity

by ThreeLivesGames - Jam Entry

// Story //
The planet of Terranova has, for many millennia, been plagued by falling celestial bodies. Space devris, asteroids, fallen spacecraft, and the like. As a result, the Terranovians have invested great time and effort in the production of a technology powerful enough to prevent this debrid from coming into contact with the planet ever again.

You are the only remaining hope for Terranova. Equipped with a quazo-hyper gravity suit outfitted with hydraulic piston boots, you must deflect incoming detritus in order to change the fate of Terranova and all of it's inhabitants!

// Controls //
Left Arrow - Move Left
Right Arrow - Move Right
Left + Right Arrow - Jump/Double Jump/Teleport
R - Restart

// Tools //
Photoshop
C++ and SFML
Soundation
Audacity

// Credits //
@ThreeLivesGames
Programming by Andrew Jones
Music and Sound Design by Jordan Giustizia

@JoeHasDied
Art by Joseph Hanna

Game Design by Andrew, Jordan, Joseph

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#57Audio(Jam)4.05
#67Innovation(Jam)3.89
#109Overall(Jam)3.84
#118Mood(Jam)3.83
#176Graphics(Jam)4.08
#190Fun(Jam)3.59
#273Theme(Jam)3.95

Comments

JordanFitz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:04am

Quite an addicting game with good music!

Kakureta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:12am

Neat gameplay and I find the visuals rather appealing :)

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:14am

Love the music, very tricky game play but a lot of fun

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:16am

Concept was pretty unique, I liked the sound and art a lot as well.

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:22am

That was a good one, liked the idea for the two button controls. Though I'm surprised someone that can repels a large object with ease has trouble being smashed by them :). Ayway, anyone coding a game on C++ deserve respect, so congratulations!

ps:where's the source code? I wanted to recompile it on Linux. I was lucky this worked on Wine :).

xodene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:23am

Hot mama, those are some pretty pixels! Nice work on the visuals. The audio is one my favorites in the jam so far.

adamgryu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:26am

Neat gameplay. I feel like using another jump button could make it feel a little more responsive. Maybe consider adding that after Ludum

torcado194 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:29am

wow this is awesome! i really love the art and the gameplay is super unique! Jumping between asteroids is super satisfying! I feel like you should be able to jump and begin moving quicker, though. Also I'm pretty sure i won after i died once, and the game crashed so i didnt get to continue.

Andy Gainey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:29am

Very creative, and lots of room for interesting scenarios. It got too difficult for my weak will after something like 10 levels, though, and I had to give up.

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:42am

The best game I ever saw in this LD. Amazing on all aspects. The only thing is you may need a better tutorial level. my first 2 mins experience is really confusing. But once I get it. Amazing!

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:05pm

This was amazing! i love the music, and the game was hard, yet rewarding.

RoynLimb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:25am

Very well Done! I like how you managed to stick to the two button control theme!

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Beautiful art and sounds. And great concept. I enjoyed playing this game.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:48am

This was really cool. Love jumping between planets, and once you start deflecting entire planets into incoming objects it feels super cool. Also, the soundtrack: makes me smile. Awesome.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Great Job! I loved being able to use planets to destroy other ones before they made it to Terranova.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Best game I've played so far! Very fun mechanics. Music was great, art is nice and the atmosphere, no pun intended, was great! Good job!

bradur says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Cool game, the physics were very well implemented. I enjoyed flying through space whenever I made a mistake :D. The graphics and music fit together, and the gameplay was difficult enough but simple to learn.

Jace239 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Thanks for leaving a rating and commenting on my game! I included your game in the second episode of my Let's Play Ludum Dare 34 series to show my gratitude! :D

Below is a link to the post with details, and you can find out my opinion of your game in the video as I play!
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/12/21/lets-play-ludum-dare-34-episode-02/

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:49am

Great idea and gameplay!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]