Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hero's War

by murlsousa - Jam Entry

In Hero's War you control a Soldier that is fighting alone against the enemy's invasion. In this two buttons control themed game you use on of them to rotate and aim with, and the other to shoot monsters down! Watch out for the colored runes of each monster as it indicates how many hits is needed to kill them. Train harder to increase your precision rate to more than 100% by hitting more than one monster per shot. After facing the 5th wave you'll be victorious!

Share with your friends and see who gets the better score at the end!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#87Theme(Jam)4.21
#405Innovation(Jam)3.29
#414Overall(Jam)3.42
#427Fun(Jam)3.25
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

Andarilhoz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:29am

Nice gameplay, but the music gets too repetitive

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Great game, I really enjoyed it! I think red and yellow colors should be swaped in instruction but it's not an issue. Very good balance and game mechanic :) It's got a great potential and I'd love to see more.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Great use of the two-button-controls theme. I like the style and it's fun to play.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:11pm

It surprisingly fun to play. You should make losing hp more visual.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:18pm

10570 points! Cool, I would level to a weapon level up

ddr2 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:21pm

gets repetitive quite quickly but it's definitely enjoyable for a while.

bakudas says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:48am

Neat gameplay! And the art is pretty nice in overall. A little bit repetitive but is fun as well. Good job!

bessdlan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:02pm

great game but a little bit repetitive

anv says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:25am

Nice idea, good gameplay, but after scoring 11300 points I was a litle bit bored.
But definitely a base for something more;)

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:11pm

It is a good job but the gameplay is somewhat repetitive.

vitorlanna says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:06pm

I got the web version, and maybe I missed it but I didn't see any instructions? I think I missed it. I figured out though that the mouse shoots and space turns in one direction. Repetitive clicking to shoot though is tiring - maybe shooting could either be automatic, or could be a reason to not shoot sometimes?

I didn't understand what the colors were about.

Big Cow says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:51pm

Nice shooter. Mashed my mouse buttons like a maniac and got up into the hundreds but it seemed to stop getting much harder after a while. Nice job on an interesting concept for the challenge!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]