Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Personal Growth

by Maniac - Jam Entry

Welcome to GoodCorp, where we proudly allow our employees to use some time of their working hours for personal growth! But make sure that you don't dissappoint your boss, who will send you your tasks via e-mail.

This is a small story based game. Having programmed for 5 game jams this time I restricted myself to programmer art and an authoring tool aimed at non-programmers.

The game has a clear ending which can be reached in approx. 5 minutes if you know what to do. It is controlled almost entirely by mouse, with the exception of a single task. If you are stuck at one of the tasks a Skip-button will appear after some time.

Created by Christian Reuter at TU Darmstadt (Multimedia Communications Lab) using the authoring tool StoryTec and it's associated player application.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#161Humor(Jam)3.44
#490Innovation(Jam)3.18
#518Mood(Jam)3.21
#703Audio(Jam)2.15
#724Overall(Jam)3.10
#758Fun(Jam)2.86
#770Graphics(Jam)2.93
#872Theme(Jam)3.15

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:43am

Liked it. Reminded me of my job.

flyingbear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:52am

Enjoyable collection of minigames that got a bit tedious when they started repeating. I got tripped up during basic math section because I couldn't tell what was a 1 or 7

AM_Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:55am

Cool little story. I was going through the daily grind for a while until I realized that I needed some time for personal growth :P. I couldn't quite figure out the poker sorting game though. Am I supposed to put them in order from left to right? (i.e. K, Q, J, 10, 8, 7, 4, 2)?

Maniac says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:12am

@AM_Games: It is supposed to be the other way around, starting from the lowest one. Maybe I should have taken more care in researching what sorting cards means in different card games.

NoradZero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:20am

Nice remind my of advanture games i played when i was little.

blohod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:22am

Nice graphics, the beeps of the audio got annoying though, overall good job!

KBF123 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:26am

Huh... Don't do work... I'll keep that one in mind!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:17pm

I got angry every time I tried to read the emails and the character's boss told me to do something!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Overall i enjoyed it. The minigames were interesting at first but got repetitive after the 4th or 5th time.

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:06am

Pro:
+ Nice story, clever ending
+ Cool approach of the theme
+ Simple but effective
Con:
- So much loading x.x

Great job!

Quadnozzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Minigames were fun and well-implemented. Do you have to fully complete the first day? (Asking since I could only 'finish' on the second, despite wanting to tell my boss to go get stuffed.) Audio was a little grating. Overall, interesting and fun twist on the theme!

Strike says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:00pm

I love the dark humor there

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Cool game.
First one so far with some meaning for real life so far :)

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Really nice game. Depressing though !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]