Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

La Mano Loca (Sticky Hand)

by koocachookies - Jam Entry

SYNOPSIS
Dr. Balzerian’s failed experiment has made one of his hands sticky! Security robots in his own laboratory do not recognise him and want to kill him! Will he be able to escape from his lab?

KEY POINTS
- Use the sticky hand to collect all the items that you find in your path. Collect everything, and it will pile up in the sticky hand...
- Release the elements contained in the sticky hand to destroy stuff! But beware, you can barely control it...
- Interact with the sticky hand to get and destroy enemies and objects!
- Thousands of dangers lurk in the lab!

CREDITS
- Pedro Fuentes - Design // @peter_fonts - cromfaeir@gmail.com
- Daniel Gómez - Art // @koocachookies - danigomez@cinnamonworks.net
- Sergio Martínez - Programmer // @anidealgift - sergiomartinez@cinnamonworks.net
- freesound.org - Music and Sound FX

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#86Humor(Jam)3.75
#114Innovation(Jam)3.76
#292Overall(Jam)3.55
#339Fun(Jam)3.38
#411Mood(Jam)3.33
#462Graphics(Jam)3.56
#472Audio(Jam)3.10
#1005Theme(Jam)2.73

Comments

maguera93 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:56pm

one of the best games in this ludum dare! Very funny and the art is amazing!!

victorfisac says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Nice and original idea! Sometimes it's a little bit difficult to throw the objects as expected. Very funny! :D

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:23am

This was definitely a very interesting concept, I wondered at times whether his arm would fall off. Very nice game!

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:10pm

A really original game with fun mechanics, but sometimes a little rought to play. Great entry overall. Thanks!

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Really a great work! Graphics and audio are pretty solid. Too bad the gameplay is random imo, I don't really know how I hit the opponents, I'm not in total control (but maybe that was intended). Otherwise it's very good :)

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Looking like a good game already, fast and fun game.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:40pm

solid game, i had a few problems with reading the platforms and the jumping felt a bit off sometimes. the art, sound and the core mechanics however are really good and make you want to keep playing :) nicely done!

Nizan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:14am

This is really solid and I enjoyed playing it. Found the bomb-throwing robots a bit too hard to kill (but I really liked how you did it). First time I walked under the water and it took my items it made me smile - clever. A lot of work needed but I think this could be really fun if you polish & balance it! :)

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:15am

Not sure where is the theme, but great entry anyway ! Nice arts and new gameplay, five stars !

StMatn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:02am

Thats a nice game! It was very fun to play, but the controls sometimes bug out. Sometimes I wasn't able to move. I think it was after I was hit. The gfx look really nice and the audio is really fitting.
Nice work!

fistmaker says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Neat concept! Controls were okay, I wanted more control over the shake action.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Uno de mis juegos favoritos de esta Ludum Dare. Gran trabajo en mecánicas, tema, jugaiblidad y humor. Sinceramente me ha encantado. Genial!

CremaGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:47pm

The controls feels a bit weird but the idea is so awesome. I was hooking in the instant I saw the artwork.

Genial trabajo chicos.

marod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:48pm

¡Un muy buen juego! ¡Muy currado!

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:54pm

The idea and artwork are so nice! Maybe you should check the controls.

Pero habéis hecho un buen trabajo. Suerte.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:29pm

¡La idea me ha encantado! Al principio controlarlo es un poco raro, pero enseguida se acostumbra uno. Son muy simpáticos detalles como la cara que pone cuando le das mucho al ratón, o algunos de los objetos que recoge la mano. Me lo pasé entero, dificultad y duración justos. Gran trabajo.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:11pm

I little difficult to throw the items sometimes. Game looks good and nice idea.

Yakka says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:01pm

the game is very hard to play but I LOVE the mood. It's really absurd and fun at the same time. Well done!

fxtagn says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Fun! A/D/Space + mouse buttons control scheme is not so comfortable, imo.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:15pm

very original but controls were very difficult - nice game

akirassasin says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:00am

I wanted to vote 6/5 for fun but I couldn't find the sixth star

aare says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:31am

A bit hard to play on the lamptop with the touchpad. Super polished - I really loved the quality of the menu and graphics. Also very nice soundtrack ;) Plus love the little BMO - nice easter egg :P

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Really cool game, well done :D

JoseArias says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Nice idea and game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]