Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Vrach's Lab

by VrachLab - Jam Entry

Vrach's Lab is an infinity runner 2D
Control: SPACE - grow/shrink. UP ARROW - Jump.


The player's perfomance is measured through a score, which is the distance you covered withou dying.
The player needs to avoid obstacles which are shown on screen by managing the mechanics
of Growing/Shrinking in addition to the jump action.

You are Doctor Vrach, a Russian scientist who created a special formula which can modify the human molecules. Unfortunatelly you end up, by accident, dropping and spilling the formula all over yourself which made your body to became extremely unstable.

But don't worry!!
Doctor Vrach had developed an antidote which can cancel the instability in his body.
Now, you must help him get the antidote before its too late!!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#330Humor(Jam)2.97
#499Theme(Jam)3.69
#615Graphics(Jam)3.26
#701Fun(Jam)2.92
#768Innovation(Jam)2.74
#772Overall(Jam)3.03
#800Mood(Jam)2.78

Comments

TeamDromedare says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:11am

Fun twist on the endless runner, also good job with the graphics!

Lancelot Gao says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:19am

Good idea and I love the art.

blohod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:21am

Fun little game, I like it.

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:29am

I received a 403 error from the website and could not play your game. Do you have a downloadable version available?

VrachLab says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:01am

Thanks for the feedback. Saddly we dont have yet a downloadable version, since everyting was 100% free versions we used.

fistmaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Great game! Good level of difficulty, and use of controls.

Flip120 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Good job, very funny

triello says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Boa ideia! Gostei bastante da mecânica de crescer/escolher para passar os obstáculos.
Parabéns!

epicTCK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:17pm

It says missing key pair yada yada.. can't play

Boonearth says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:17pm

really funny and fun thanks for the laugh and enjoyment

epicTCK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:18pm

MissingKeyMissing Key-Pair-Id query parameter or cookie value to be precise

VrachLab says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Sorry guys, But I think that you're receiving this error because you're trying to play on your phone, if it's the case, the game only runs on web!

brainstorm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Great game, but I think I saw that kind of growing/shrink runner kind of game. Graphics are awesome too.

4/5

Davision says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Plays nicely but first I had my problems with it because the controls text is so quick gone and the fact the space is for growing/shrinking instead of jumping messed with my brain. Would have been better the other way around I think, after some failed attempts I got it though. Art could be better I think, I would have liked if it explored that sketchy look of the menu more. Some assets look rather low res blurry while other are sharp.

WitchLake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Nice one!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:26pm

little hard game) good luck!

emanvidmaker says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:07am

i hated the teleporting

Didi says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:24pm

I liked it! Good idea

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Fun little game! Only problem is that there doesn't seem to be much progression so I stopped playing after reaching 6300 points. Also the character seems a bit odd since he is better detailed/other art style then the rest of the world.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:32am

nice little endless runner - somemore obstacles would have been great - nice job

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]