Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Little Seeds of Evil

by MrAmlice - Jam Entry

A competitive multiplayer game (or you can solo... but a lot less fun). Players take the role of lumberjacks fighting against a harsh onslaught of vines. Players score points by chopping through vines. The game supports up to 4 players with controllers and up to one player on keyboard. Just plug the controllers into your system and hit play.

Aleksandar Kuzmanovic - Code/Art/SFX & Game Design
Dalibor Bekerevic - Music/Audio Design
Dmitrii Stulikov - Assistant Game and Art Design

Controls:
Space - Jump
D - Attack
Left Arrow Key - Move Left
Right Arrow Key - Move Right
Down Arrow Key + D - Low Attack (You need this to hit the vines below you)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#123Overall(Jam)3.81
#152Fun(Jam)3.67
#199Innovation(Jam)3.59
#225Theme(Jam)4.00
#253Graphics(Jam)3.93
#318Audio(Jam)3.37
#348Mood(Jam)3.42
#383Humor(Jam)2.88

Comments

AdamsMcCall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Awesome game ! Very close to the growing theme :D And very fun to play, I love it :D

JALgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Nice game, had a lot fun to play it.
I like the graphics style and gameplay and you sticked to the theme growing. Well done for only one weekend time.

rogberth says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:12pm

I wish I had friends to play this, I actually had a good time dodging and cutting vines haha. Great job!

RevelBase says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:32am

This was just great, played it with 2 players. Very nice art,and awesome sound. well done! :)

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:36am

I was really disappointed because its only for windows. Could you upload mac/ linux version? looks very nice, but i can't play D:

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:43am

Really fun. Was very polished for a ludum dare game.

sonelliot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:24am

Awesome game. The art and sounds are really well done. Feels very polished. I'll play this one again with friends!

lurils says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:55am

the concept is really interesting, especially like how the vines also work as platforms/walls that can change the game a lot, and the art is really nice to.

brandloose says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:26am

I really like the graphics, audio, and general idea of the game. But, I felt like the game kinda dragged along and didn't increase in challenge very quickly, as well as the players movement felt very slow. Otherwise, awesome game!

DrZanuff says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:49am

Very funny! I couldn't play coop, but i think it should be a lot fun. One suggestion: Inform that you can Press Down + Attack Button to execute low attacks. I just learned this late in the game.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Really fun game to play, wish I had more people to play with right now, but I can imagine it being fun!

MrAmlice says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:47am

Thanks for the comments guys!

@Galvesmash I'll try to do something for you ASAP. Unfortunately GameMaker (engine I used) doesn't allow me to export to Max OSX without owning a Mac (WTF?)... which I do not :S I'll see if I can get a Linux Ubuntu thing up or something.

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:55am

Nice job. Good art, smooth game play. Liked how you die. Well done.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:14pm

lol nice

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:25pm

I played around witht he mechanics of this one with my son playing the lumberjack guy. Love the character design, the asymmetrical gameplay idea, everything about this. I wish I could give it a more proper go.

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Sadly had to play alone, but it is well done and seems interesting with friends.

kanatohodets says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Very nice! Shockingly polished, nice execution of a MP platformer.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Unfortunately, the game triggers UAC, sorry. Looks fun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]