Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

FlowerPower

by limered - Jam Entry

My submission for two button controls. Better late, than never.

I wanted to mimic gamestyle/look of old handheld games.

Controls: Left/Right Arrowkey.

Collect drops with flower head. Score is based on game duration and collected drops.
Post your score!

Greetings from Germany!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#150Theme(Jam)4.10
#398Overall(Jam)3.43
#646Graphics(Jam)3.19
#658Humor(Jam)2.39
#725Fun(Jam)2.90
#1648Coolness42%

Comments

Ayaya33 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:32pm

I absolutely love the graphics here. It reminds me of those cheap toys they used to make that they gave away in McDonalds and the like. (I think I have a handful of Sonic games like this where you basically just avoid falling things in various scenarios)

I also had a lot of fun with it. Unlike those cheap toys this one had a challange to it as itgets faster and faster.

And as for the theme, it combines the two perfectly. Well done on that especially!

Overall, great game for this Ludum Dare!

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:43pm

A very loveable game that lies close to flawless

kmakai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Great job combining the themes! I agree that the visual style is awesome as well, smart choice for this type of game.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:15pm

5/5 very nice game, I love this type of games.
We also made a retro game, please rate us if you like.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:46pm

This would be a hit on the apple store

lonewookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Fantastic! Reminds me of Game&Watch games. Simple, fun, challenging. Not particularly innovate, but still great!

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:49pm

This reminded us of the classic LCD games, the color combination and art style did a great job recreating the feeling. In the end, two buttons are more than enough to keep up the challenge! An online ranking could help to challenge friends. Good job!

Komradus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:02am

Interesting concept, my default screen size was cut off on the sides and I didn't notice the far end droplets.

greenscreen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:03am

Graphics look great. Unfortunately gameplay is too simple. Maybe if it was more difficult over time, or if the plant would really grow. That would be very cool.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]