Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Against the Blizzard

by alltimeemma1 - Jam Entry

Against the Blizzard is a simple game based around the theme of 'two button controls'. Play as a snowman trying to find his nose in a blizzard and battle against the wind with experiential controls.

Controls/Tips
- Repeatedly tap the right arrow key to push onwards through the storm.
- Press space to jump across gaps, making sure to time it right, when the wind is weak.
- A strong wind is signified by clouds and visual gusts of wind - avoid jumping when these are present or the wind will knock you backwards!

Note
Though submitted as just a 'jam' entry, the game was developed entirely by myself within the first 48 hours of LD34.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2115Coolness24%

Comments

Piode says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:45am

Absolutely gorgeous game. The gameplay is really unique too; I really felt like I was battling the wind - it was quite tiring! Evidently a lot of work was put into this, with the cute character and premise.

colinator27 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:55pm

The game was great, but didn't use the growing theme, and I'm not sure about the two controls... I loved the art, and it sure was a task to push through the wind! The game felt too short to be completely enjoyable... otherwise the game was fun!

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:57pm

The graphics are lovely. I loved all of the visual effects in the background. My only complaint there would be that the snowman was a little too hard to see because it blended in with the surroundings a lot.

My right index finger got a large workout :P. Nice job overall!

Komradus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:59am

Solid graphics, though the blizzards could've used some more dynamics like particle effects.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:04am

I like the art. I don't like press A button repeatedly. Overall the game passes.

Logicon says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:59am

Kinda hurt my hand to play

herniewise says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:47am

Really nailed the art style. Nice job!

AdamsMcCall says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Somehow Microsoft onedrive doesn't work. I wasn't able to download it. Too bad, I feel like I'm missing a great game :/

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]