Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Colonize

by WeirdMind - Jam Entry

Colonize

Your motherland became to small, and many people didn’t own any land. So now it’s your turn to colonize a whole new untouched place on earth.

You have to build new farms, dig new wells and make sure, that your colonist have everything they need, so that they also produce some new colonists and worker for your colony.

You have 100 Rounds to let your colony grow to the best and fulfilling colony on earth. Check your High Score and share it with your enemy, friends and especially with us. :)

Have fun at playing our Game for Ludum Dare Jam 34

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Controls:
Use your Mouse to select buildings you want to build and place these buildings on your spot on mother earth.

After Building new parts of your colony, don’t forget to assign your colonists to the several task they can perform.

Build as many buildings you can and earn more resources than everyone else. Only that’s the way to a huge High Score.

If you want to Reset your progress, just press [ESC] to return to Main Menu.

Mouse - Controls Everything
Left Click - Confirm
Right Click - Cancel placement
Esc - Back to Main Menu

Comment:
We couln't test the Linux and MacOS version, we hope they will work :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#721Audio(Jam)1.50
#743Theme(Jam)3.40
#743Fun(Jam)2.88
#788Overall(Jam)3.00
#791Graphics(Jam)2.87
#851Humor(Jam)1.57
#867Mood(Jam)2.64
#877Innovation(Jam)2.56

Comments

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Neat game, you got a lot done in just 72 hours. Well done :)

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Nice.

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Nice concept and art, but confusing gameplay.

Haighstrom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Cool little Civ type game, had a lot of depth for an LD
game. Really like the graphics.

Also I love that you made a 2D game in Unity!

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:27pm

nice game, i played it in the webplayer, the right click kept popping up the webplayer menu.

teamross says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:35pm

A lot of work done in 72 hours.
It is a solid and entertaining game, and cool concept.

I got lost a bit when I started playing the first time, but in the end i got what i have to do.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:45pm

I am having some trouble selecting buildings, partially because I keep trying to drag them into the world. It would be cool if the world had some different types of terrain, like a river or mountains. I don't understand how to assign humans to stuff. Ok, after clicking on literally everything I figured out that I need to click on the + button next to building, really confused why it says 99 there and the plus button changes the number next to the -, but ok. You should prompt the player if they try to end turn with unassigned humans. It doesn't seem like placement of buildings has any effect on the game, you could have just simplfied and left that out. I played all 100 rounds, final score 6250. I couldn't figure out how to get more then 12 humans, not sure if that was a limit or i needed to build more. Good start for a strategy game here, I think you should try to simplify things and work on ui to better inform the player and make choices more understandable.

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:47pm

I can tell this took quite a lot of work. Needs a simple intro screen to explain the game and alleviate some confusion, and some tweaking, but still nicely done for 72 hours!

Muffinhat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:13pm

The UI works quite nicely, with tool tips and everything. The game could use a tutorial though (such is the case with most strategy games). I'd say this makes a nice basis for a colonization game.

mrjorts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Cool city builder :) I had trouble figuring out what order to build everything. It's very easy to run out of the resource you need, and then have no way of gaining more of it.

fistmaker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Interesting game, if a little hard to understand. A better explanation of game play would go far here. Great entry, looks like a lot of work!

Jajo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Graphics were great, maybe some music next time?

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Cool game! I would've liked to be able to play longer when I win! Cool idea with the buildings, could've been nice to show income from the villagers somehow! Great game!

scriptorum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Good fun! Nice job. Pretty deep gameplay for a jam.

My final score was 10010. You can trap yourself early if you overbuild. I did better when I focused on sustaining the population while getting my first set of buildings out.

You should spell out somewhere that each house increases population capacity by two and each warehouse increases storage capacity by 20, although the latter is more easily deduced.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Gameplay is a bit confusing, but I agree with Ethan. It's a whole lot of gameplay for a weekend

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:13pm

I couldn't figure out how to assign my humans.. I was clicking on the plus button but nothing happened. Nice job though, pretty cool game for such a short time frame.

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:36pm

I like to see depth in LD games. A tutorial would have been helpful.

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:25am

Nice game! It had a lot of depth, which I think is awesome, but it was confusing sometimes.

Jimbly says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:47am

A lot more depth than I expected, quite enjoyed it! Things I wish I knew when I was starting: people consume food and water, had to have two people in a house *and* build an extra house for every 2 people. My score was 9900.

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Great game, a bit addictive. A tutorial would be really helpful, I needed some to know how to play, and the town really needs some fire safety

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:38am

This game could really benefit from some music and sound effects. Also, I did not have a clue on what to do for the first 5 to 10 minutes, a tutorial would have been great!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Took a while to work out which buildings to do first in order to get a good stream of resources but this was a pretty solid entry. Also I'm not sure if it would make the game more or less fairer but maybe you could have certain tiles (that are randomly generated) which give out special bonuses when a certain building is placed on it or even an exploration mechanic where you start out in one spot of the map and the rest cannot be seen unless you send scouts to discover the rest of the map as you play.

gloim says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:46am

Wow, impressive game for 72 hours :) great work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]