Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growing Beat

by David Cookie - Jam Entry

Let the beat grow into your body, and make music out of randomness.
May also contain a parallel story about life, very subtle.

It's a simple rhythm game with two buttons: left and right arrow.
Made in 5 hours for Ludum Dare #34 the 14th of December 2015.

IMPORTANT: the music may not be in rhythm with arrows due to webplayer, in that case, a refresh (F5) should do the trick!
--> little update with a disclaimer at the start.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#334Audio(Jam)3.34
#645Theme(Jam)3.55
#755Mood(Jam)2.91
#773Fun(Jam)2.84
#880Overall(Jam)2.88
#953Graphics(Jam)2.35

Comments

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:38pm

The game is very difficult. I like it.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:52am

Great tune. Unfortunately I'm not good enough to get the bar filled.

plauk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:08am

I could only beat this game with two players!

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:46am

Wow, very sorry to hear that the game is too hard :o
I've played a lot of rhythm games in my life so it was hard to balance the game right for me, and I hadn't time to test it by other people either.
I really want to add more songs of various difficulty in the future, but I won't change this one until end of jam.
Thanks for the feedback!

FindX says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Took me 344s, but I finally beat it! Love the unexpected motivational quote at the end lol. It takes a while to get into the rhythm, but once you do, it's a lot of fun and makes some amazing melodies. I really hope you continue to polish this, maybe add some grid to signify the tempo, as it was sometimes hard to work out when notes were supposed to be hit.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:13pm

I love this! This is my type of game. Very well done, although more variety would be perfect. Two buttons done well in my opinion. The message at the end is a bit cheesy, but it goes well with a slice of bread. I actually played it another time just because I thought I lost! :D

axoona says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:42pm

nice music!

cudabear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Audio is awesome, which makes sense! Graphics are simple but get the job done. Some difficulty scaling might be nice, right now I found the game pretty hard but I managed to power through. Well done!

Phobos001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:46pm

The main problem I ran into was that the arrows didn't match up with the beat at all. If the arrows were timed with the beat of the music or with the melody, it would be easier to time instead of trying to time it just through visuals, which for me isn't very easy :P

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:56pm

I return in the comment section a last time to say that the music may not be in rhythm with arrows due to the webplayer, or so I think.. in that case, a refresh (F5) should do the trick! Sorry if that disturbed you for your first game :/
I will hopefully manage this issue by preloading musics in a menu/selection of levels.

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:56pm

I rocked it :P

Nice little song and game. 5 hours is impressive!

Auroz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:27pm

I really enjoyed this game! It had nice music and it was challenging enough to not get boring.

However, one thing that bothered me slightly was the fact that most notes were off-beat. It made the game feel slightly jarring. I'd recommend instead having notes fall on crotchet and quaver beats, perhaps with some syncopation later in the game.

joekinglake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Really nice game, I just found it a bit difficult to get the bar filled. Maybe have it start out with a slower speed, to kind of get the player used to the action. Then speed it up gradually. Well done!

WitchLake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Really hard but great!!! I think it would ge great to choose a color for left and right and another color for when you have to press both! Despite that , i had fun!!!

Drury says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Gets pretty laggy on my craptop, but I guess that's my problem.

makiki99 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Well, the falling notes felt like they were placed at completely random positions. The music is nice, but well... it isn't really well fit for rhythym games. Interface could be done better - I would move the progress bar to the left or right side made it vertical, and move arrows much closer to each other. The hit windows for falling notes are fine.

mikedurn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Worked well for me. I'm guessing it depends if people's computers are lagging. I'll agree that it would be cool if the arrows matched the beat a little more. Also maybe two different sounds for left and right (and another for both). Nicely done, though.

endel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Pretty good results for 5h of work. Add some more musics and UI feedbacks and it would be great!

JeffCODEblum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:41am

Very cool. Good job.

psychonull says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:08am

Great game, well done!!

awesomerex says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:00am

Loved the music. Great job.

ninjascript says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:03am

I'm no good at it but it's really good for 5 hours!

rabbeni says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Good Job!

Gins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Cool little rhythm game :) Catchy tune, too :3

SpareWizard says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:06am

This was very enjoyable. The music felt random but very cohesive, good job!

DrZanuff says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Nice game. For the music problem, if you import the music file to the Sounds folder instead of the Music folder, it will load the music at beginning with the sprites etc. So when the game loads there will be no delay at the music.

David Cookie says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Wow, thanks DrZanuff! It's not really intuitive aha :p
I will test that.

PaulJs says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Maybe a bit to difficult for me, but the music is nice !

Jod says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Cool stuff, well done!

cxsquared says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:32am

I think the random notes hurt the game a bit because it didn't really feel like I was playing along with the music. I did like the music and the idea. Nice work.

23 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:06am

Nice rhythm game! I am always terrible at rhythm games so I'm not sure if it's me or my computer, but even after reloading I think the beat might have been a bit off... Running Chrome on Windows 7 if that helps at all.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:46am

Music was nice, but didn't really fit the gameplay style. Awesome entry for 5 hours though!

kezhaar says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Great job :) improvment could be to add a different colors to arrows when you have to push both keys at the same time

Skywilly says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:41am

Interesting game !

scorched says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Nice soundtrack!

mxjones says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:29pm

I couldn't get the bar full, but I'm terrible at rhythm games. This was awesome, enjoyed it and very impressive for a game made in 5 hours. Great unique idea. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]