Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Raven's Myth

by 3rdChance - Jam Entry

What would happen if the trees and nature would take revenge? In our dark, death game Raven's myth you are going to play the strongest, blood addictive tree in the history. The tree wants blood, human blood!

Get as much you can in a fantastic graphic world with great music. Time for revenge...

UPDATE:
- added WebGL build.
- fixed a critical bug where the enemys would run veeery slow

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#108Graphics(Jam)4.25
#395Audio(Jam)3.23
#426Mood(Jam)3.32
#572Overall(Jam)3.26
#651Humor(Jam)2.40
#659Fun(Jam)2.98
#950Theme(Jam)2.95
#1001Innovation(Jam)2.18

Comments

Mat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:07am

Nice graphics, animations and music but the enemies are so slow it's boring :/

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:31am

That tree is so ominous and awesome looking. Simple mechanic, but fun. I wish the knights started out a little faster.

3rdChance says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:19am

The enemies running THAT slow was a bug we got in the last build :(
We fixed it and added a WebGL Build. You are welcome to give it another try :)

donvermo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:40am

The concept is really nice but I can win by just holding my mouse down and aiming around a bit making it a bit too easy.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:42am

Graphics and audio are great! Game runs very smooth as well. Unfortunately it did get a bit repetitive. Also I would have loved if there was some kind of sound on hitting enemies.

manabreak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:42am

Awesome graphics and mood! Reminded me of Rogue Legacy. :)

Khamekaze says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:43am

Wow the final form is terrifying :o
Great game, it left me wanting more and the graphics are top notch :D

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:44am

I normally really hate tower defense games, but for some reason I played yours lol...

philipp says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:45am

Visually very nice, but missing quite a bit of juice (recommend watching this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fy0aCDmgnxg). great athmo, also you logo design is amazing

RadStar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:47am

Nive overall art, too bad the special FX weren't in pixel art too :)

Gipzo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:54am

Awesome graphics and nice idea :)
I would suggest some improvements on difficulty (everything is too easy after getting lasers) and some indication that we hit the enemy

NuclearCellar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:07am

With the speed fix many times better experience! Amazing pixel art and upgrades can do miracles for gameplaye.

anael says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:47am

Nice graphs

saucygames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:48am

Got to wave 11, nice graphics. would be nice to have some different enemies and also an escape to pause setup. nice job.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:52am

Really liked the visuals, just think that the difficulty curve needs tweaking, it starts to become too easy at the end, all in all nice work though

WitchLake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:55am

Animations and graphics rocks! Good job! Some effect when you hit ennemies are missing I think. More feedback would be great but nice work!

daleth90 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:58am

Great graphic and bgm, but the same enemy tempo makes the game becomes boaring and easy as the tree keeps growing.

limered says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:00pm

Nice one, i really like the mega laser! Graphics are awesome. Simple concept nicely done.

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Dudes that was awesome! The pacing of the game was great. I loved the feel of the blood addictive tree when he gets stronger. The music too was on point getting em hyped to kill some knights. This inspires me man it's amazing what you can do with such a limited amount of time. definitely one of my favorite games for this entry. :)

Rocketship says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:08pm

Graphics are really nice and the shooting looks nice but the gameplay itself would do with a bit more than just shooting, maybe different attack types that you could variate between.

guoboism says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Great Graphics. But the pace is too slow. Most of time is simply waiting.

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Great graphics and mood, but the game is a bit too easy and repetitive. That still a cool entry :) Congrats!

RIDBers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Hi! Thanks for developing this game. I liked the theme. Keep working!!
Laura - RIDBers programmer

bloomingbuds says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Great art and really like the color range chosen.

Fadobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Nice graphics, starts a bit slow, but picks up quickly. Pretty easy though.

smbe19 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Really nice art & sound. But somehow if you run out of lives you can still continue the game...

rijnswand says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Nice little game! :) The graphics are very cool, I would have loved to play more levels.

Maybe I didn't hear them, but the bats could use an audio cue when they die.

dusho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:05pm

very nice game
the art is really good

jsmars says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Very nice presentation! Something happened at lvl 12 and nothing more came.

sleepYxy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Great art and mood! The music and tree sound effects work just great in conjunction to the stage of the game. And the tree looks so amazing in his final form :D

There are some nice suprises in the game, I totally didn't anticipate the melee attack. But the difficulty curve could use some tweaking, it feels a bit edgy sometimes and progression feels slow.

I expected more bass to the lasersound and I would have loved to start the attack (also the melee) myself instead of it being fired automatically. Or simply add a timer so that one knows when it's ready.

Anyway, good job!

Rodaja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:46pm

That tree is cool, and the way it grows is a nice touch. Aiming feels a bit wrong, though, and the first attack seems quite dull and the hardest to hit with.

Simple, short, fun. Keep it up!

Tuism says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Great graphics, I enjoyed the tweens on the soldiers.

But the gameplay is completely lacking, you basically hold the button down and spam, and the aim's so random that you basically can't care much until they get close to you.

The big laser cannon? You don't even know when it's ready. But it probably doesn't matter too much, you just hold down and spam. Spam spam spam. The game really needs more variation to give skill a chance.

MikeTsunami says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:58am

A nice tower defense-like game.

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:09pm

graphics are really good but game play was just me holding a mouse button down

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]