Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tiny Tyrant

by tyrants.not.found.team - Jam Entry

Gamers and devs, we (Tyrants-Not-Found team) present ya our tiny game for this jam:
"Tiny Tyrant"

We used both themes to create this mobile-friendly game.

You play as the mayor of a small city.
You need to gather votes from citizens in order to apply your new awesome laws.
The city changes with each law you apply.


Gameplay:
- talk to citiziens and convince them to vote for you through a quick action/memory mini-game
- get enough votes to apply new laws in city
- keep doing that to create an interesting way of life


Controls:
- Mobile: the 2 buttons on screen
- PC: the left/ right arrows


Dev team:
- Morco
- Ionut Sima
- Teo Vladescu
- Stefan Balea
- Silviu Ivascu
- Cristina Opriceana


We hope you enjoy it!
Don't forget to give us some feedback! Always appreciated :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#91Humor(Jam)3.73
#143Graphics(Jam)4.15
#218Theme(Jam)4.02
#223Overall(Jam)3.64
#279Audio(Jam)3.44
#286Innovation(Jam)3.45
#286Mood(Jam)3.50
#532Fun(Jam)3.14

Comments

bradur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:44am

A very well made game! The combinations were difficult to remember at first, but fortunately there were enough people that it didn't matter too much. I managed to finish the game, and legalize weed, flying bacos, pirates and many other things. I really like the fact that the city changed whenever you made a new law. The graphics were top notch, and the sound & music design was quite nice. The control system was very well thought as well, and it worked nicely. Good work!

Gipzo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:05am

Good and very funny game. Pretty graphics. Only concern is that combinations are not unique each play :)

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:36am

Very fun game. Love the way your 'policies' have an influence on the city. Also a very fun way of getting your votes. Great stuff!

Headmade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:37am

Very funny and great art. I love that the laws I pass take effect immediately and change the city this drastically.

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:44am

Heh, very interesting. Would have been good if failing a sequence a number of times showed it again, since it's easy to forget them sometimes.

marod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:56am

A game with voice! It's a great game, with a nicely designed graphics, but I miss something to remember the patterns. Great game!

nopogo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:14am

The level of detail in the graphics is REALLY impressive. The memorizing bit starts of as difficult but gets easier with more playthroughs. Also liked the humour in the written parts.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:38am

Good entry for this theme. The graphics were good and the game really polished. The unique problem was my brain can't memorize all the sequences lol.

i found one bug in the tutorial when I answer wrong and accidentaly got the cloud sequence instead of the smile face.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:55am

Thanks for feedback people :D
We did put some effort into the game and tried to polish it as much as we had energy.

@Galvesmash
That's not a bug. It is intended :)
Each icon represents an idea.
You don't have to type only the combinations shown.
There are multiple combinations possible you can use even when no citizen showed you.
Only when the 2 ideas are the same (mayor and citizen), you get the vote :)


Cheers,
Morco (tyrants.not.found team)

Crosstales says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Really nice idea, it gets really hard after time.
Nice work

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Love the art and sound, it was very well done! The game play is solid but it requires very good short term memory that I don't have much. However, the game is very lenient on that so it works out perfectly. The laws are hilarious. One of the best game I've play. Congrats!

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:02pm

I can't remember half the combinations, damn my addled brain! Love the humor and the whole theme of it. The initial statement is complete nonsense :D

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Really good! It's very polished, and a really great idea.

Flip120 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Very well made game, very beautiful graphics and music, i really like it.
Good job

phi6 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Loved it!

micky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:55pm

the graphics and audio were great :) awesome little game

randomhuman says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:06pm

So polished, just a lovely experience. I love how each level introduces a new ridiculous element into the next one! No chance of me getting very far with that memory mechanic though.

Team Tree says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Nice work, I love the way the city evolves! :D

mathijs750 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:35am

Nice you took the time to read out the text. This is a wonderful mechanic, however am terrible at memorizing the combinations. You get my vote.

OwT says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Game is really good, graphic style and colors are beautiful! This is a very interesting and funny idea for the game, and it matches with the theme too! The combinations are a little to hard for me, cause I saw them only once, but this is a part of gameplay and I like it. Audio is great too, it's making a good mood and that little rhymes are amazing and so funny! Very good job!

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:19pm

It was fun to play, except the memorization aspect of it, it got a bit too easy after memorizing all the combinations

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Great game and nice use of the theme. Graphics were good with some unique gameplay. Found it really hard but that has more to do with my poor memory :)

Neil says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Very impressive entry! Great use of the theme, excellent graphics, and very good way to control the game.

I loved the way the city changed as you passed laws!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:22am

Good ideas pretty and interesting game

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:13am

Hard game for the brain. You could rememeber the combinations learned at the beginning of the stage. Loved the graphics and the recorded audio!

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Super original game!

ElliotFiske says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:32am

Really fun, innovative game!

It got reasonably tricky by the end, but I still scraped by and got the win condition.

Having a reminder of what the policies are between each round might be useful, although it might make things too easy.

Super solid graphics, audio, and mechanic!

richardboegli says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:59am

@Drauthius
> Would have been good if failing a sequence a number of times showed it again, since it's easy to forget them sometimes.
Agreed

@nopogo
> The level of detail in the graphics is REALLY impressive. The memorizing bit starts of as difficult but gets easier with more playthroughs. Also liked the humour in the written parts.
Agreed.

@NoWandStudios
Super original game!
Agreed

I quoted others as they basically said what I was going to.

Really well done game, if numbers were used instead of keypresses it would have been easier.

I just assigned left and right as 1 and 2 in my own head so that I could play :P

The story and text for things to vote for were funny.

Ludum34 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Beautifull game!!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:31pm

This game was very cool- combining memorization with this theme of campaigning as a politician...I think? The title says I'm a tyrant and yet I need the support of the people for some reason. Not quite sure what the political structure of this society is, all I know is with enough support from the public I can make cannibalism legal.

Anyway the game has a message and paints political figures as these sort of Yes Men or Parrots. I think alot of people will get behind that.

One thing tho: I think this game will suffer from a steep interest curve and low replayability. In the beginning, while I'm memorizing patterns I'm bound to make alot of mistakes but the patterns on the arguments are always the same so once I memorize them all there is basically no challenge anymore. Rather than randomizing citizen sprites, I this can be easily fixed: keep the pattern length the same and random which pattern is associated with which argument each run.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 7:50am

this was very interesting - hard to remember the sequences - if you fail one it should remind you again - nice job

crucknuk says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Nice entry! My city became totally non-sense, it was hilarious xD It is well executed, good job ;)

gloim says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:59am

great game! the artstyle and music are nice. had fun :)

klianc09 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:01pm

Like others said, screwed up the first day, but then never got anything wrong anymore. It's relatively easy to remember the sequences since there are only two buttons, I like that.
The voice acting was a pleasant surprise.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]