Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow a Beard!

by martin-denizet - Jam Entry

My name is Handsome Dave and I'll be your personal trainer to guide you through steps to get a manly beard.

TIME TO GROW A BEARD!

Handsome Dave will push you to your limit in these fast paced mini-games.
We had quite a laugh doing this, we hope you will have fun playing it too!

Note: Images are less pixelated if you use the "Web Desktop" link instead of the embedded version.

CREDITS:

All sounds effects in VoiceActing3000.
Animations in GhettoVision xHD.
No rabbits were hurt making this game.
We do not promote excessive alcohol consumption.
Please do not high-five random wild animals.
All the virtual meat in this game was produced organically.
Made in France.
Mime content guarantied < 0.27%.

Martin Denizet
Graphics / Voice acting
http://martin-denizet.com/

Benjamin Baldassini
Musics / Panda testing
http://www.benjaminbaldassini.fr/

Louis Denizet
Game design / Development
http://louis-denizet.fr/


Edit : We corrected the bug that led to 404 error sorry :/
Edit2: We reduced the difficulty a bit
Edit3: We reduced the difficulty for the "Steak" game. Thanks for the feedback!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#13Humor(Jam)4.29
#90Fun(Jam)3.80
#201Audio(Jam)3.58
#223Overall(Jam)3.64
#332Mood(Jam)3.44
#375Theme(Jam)3.82
#492Graphics(Jam)3.50
#571Innovation(Jam)3.06

Comments

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:03am

It says the link can't be found :(

lastninja2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:54am

Enjoyed this one ;)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Heads up, your link is a 404 dude!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:24pm

this link have error 404 unfortunately, because screen looks good.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Sorry guys, we fixed it :/

Joror says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Fun set of mini-games! :D Very original angle and execution. A tad difficult, but I settled for a minor beard - to trump your mother.

Pandaman3D says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:55pm

My favorite entry thus far in Ludum Dare 34!!! \(^.^)/ Although I was only able to get to level 10 :'(

Xanjos says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:06am

The intro at the start was absolutely hilarious and I enjoyed all the minigames (especially the barber one).

mahjong50 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:44am

An enjoyable game, however a bit too hard or unclear feedback

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:46am

OMFG it's awesome. 5 stars all categories =)

bob_fish says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:22pm

reminds me of warioware, amazing! Very amusing and great voice acting :D

Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:26pm

haha good initial story

Shurty says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Very funny ! I like the Beard concept and the voice is freaking hilarious.
I would reduce the mini game difficulty (the barber mini game and the beer mini game especialy). But otherwise it's awesome. great entry mister beard !

RadStar says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:40pm

nice cool game! but I think the overall ergonomy of the game could be improved to make the gameplay of each minigame more obvious. Nice voice acting, with the different accents and everything, it was funny :)

piper82 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:42pm

super fun, wish there was more minigames to play! good job.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:02pm

This feels a lot like a series of quick time events within another game just strung together. Still, its... interesting. I think you're probably going to clean up in the humor category, but it didnt tickle my funny-bone personally: Felt too much like nonsense youtuber humor.

The minigames themselves were kinda hit or miss for me-- Either they were very intuitive (ex: pick the manliest phrase of these 4) or not very intuitive (still dont get how to win the beer drinking one?)

Still it looks very nice.

herniewise says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:03pm

I love mini games!

themadknights says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Hahahahahahahaa. A real man game. Good job guys, I'm not able to complete Steak minigame but others are really awesome

Miltage says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Why even go to the barber's if you're just going to dodge his razor? Haha.

I liked the concept, but the audio quality could be better.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Awyis I grew a full beard! Awesome game, funny sound effects too. Got me in the mood to grow a beard.

el_kloklo says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:41pm

I didn't understand the think with the steak, but I had lot of fun with al the other. And that's an all voice acted game!

Drauthius says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Hahaha,what a great game, I really like it! :D

Japes says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:47pm

lol! awesome. My favourite was the barber. Noooooooo!
@Shurty: Strange, I found those the easiest. Hardest for me was the steak.

ChiPassGames says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Obviously the game looks great, is great fun for a short time, and is really funny. Perfect game jam entry. Still laughing.

PaulJs says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Very Nice game !

Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Enjoyable game.

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:09pm

My first 5* for humor!! :-)
Congrats, very funny game!

Markus Brand says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:30pm

At 20 handsome Dave was finally satisfied with my beard :)

Awesome game: verry addictive, cool graphics and sounds and alot of fun and humor.
Best Game I tested this year, so far :)

Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:36pm

I've always liked these Wario-type, fast-paced, mini-games and this was pretty good! The accent at the beginning was a little hard to understand.

Love the music and the graphics. Great stuff!

mr. a says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Winning energy!

Sometimes things are baffling, but that is part of the amusement. Figured out all of the mini-games by the second try, which is good.

Steak-eating is hard with just a trackpad.

Subtitles/text would be helpful. (Supposedly, if you record in a closet with blankets nailed to the wall, you can get less echo.)

Favorite scene: dodging the barber.

Ludipe says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:40pm

The minigames were pretty fun and I thought the overall theme was funny. Some of the games(like the questions) got old pretty quick, some (like the steak one) were quite hard to learn and I found some frustrating bugs.

But I had fun :)

Jacob123 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:41pm

This one was a really great one!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Nice micro-game based entry, it was funny and fun to play. Well done!

OwT says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:20pm

The barber is the best xd This game is awesome, the idea of mini-games isn't new, but it gave me so much fun! I like the audio, especially that voice which is talking to me, it's brilliant xd Graphics is simple, but nice, and humor, oh my, this is so funny to play! Growing-beard games is not new for this theme, but this game is really cool after all.

CPau says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Ahah really nice and fun mini games!

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:35pm

This is cute and definitely got a smile from me. Handsome Dave was proud to be my coach, apparently. I think the barber dodging game was probably my favourite.

Good job. :)

Oye Beto says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 4:35am

Fun game, I enjoyed it more once I found how to play all the mini games.

Some feedback on why the player failed could be better. For example in the stake eating contest I guess I lost because I clicked the bone but I'm not really sure. On the bunny high five I don't know why I lost.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:52pm

Very fun game, really enjoyed all the mini games. Game had a nice art style as well.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:28am

I make him proud !
Mini games always work nice in Ludum Dare ! ^^

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]