Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

2108 M81 part II

by benjaml - Jam Entry

2108 M81 part II is a balade game where you ​explore a planet procedurally generated in real time.​
WASD/ZQSD : move

mouse : look right/left



THIS MAY NEED A GOOD COMPUTER :3

http://benjaml.itch.io/2108-m81-part2

Team :

Game Design :

- Tom KURCZ @Kazura32

Game Art :

- Kévin BASSARD

- Valentin BESSON @Valpatine

- Leonard GALVA LEMAITRE

Game programmer :

- Benjamin LEFEVRE @LefevreBenjaml

Sound :

- Glocker

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#378Audio(Jam)3.28
#462Mood(Jam)3.28
#547Graphics(Jam)3.40
#566Theme(Jam)3.62
#681Innovation(Jam)2.90
#800Humor(Jam)2.04
#847Overall(Jam)2.95
#1038Fun(Jam)2.30
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:08am

I'm sorry, I can't play this on my computer (Linux).

Drunkain says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:22am

C'est pas mal, cordialement bisoux.

bearcabin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:23am

This is cool, it was fun to explore the different things that grew on the planet. Cool music too. Game ran fine on my macbook bootcamping windows.

benjaml says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:31am

@bearcabin Cool I had a really powerfull pc to make it I was afraid of optimization issues :3

matthewd673 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:37am

The atmosphere was AMAZING!!! I really enjoyed looking around the world.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:47am

Not much in terms of actual gameplay, but it does fit the theme pretty well. The environments end up looking really nice. Great work!

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:38am

Definitely a really neat concept. I love the music and the graphics. When you're walking, even in a straight line, it's easy to become disoriented and get lost (in a good, scary kind of way). It also felt kind of trippy, which really works well with the music. When the buildings started to appear, I started to feel like I really wanted to explore this weird world! And when the world started shrinking again, it definitely felt scary and strangling.

However, I think it needs some kind of warning or indication that the world is going to begin shrinking. I saw things start floating into the sky, and I thought it looked neat - like the world was being torn apart. But I wasn't sure what else to make of it. The shrinking happened so fast that I barely had time to notice it. In fact, it wasn't until maybe a minute in before I noticed the growing happening around me. If I had stood still I would have noticed it right away though I think.

Overall, very interesting! One of the more unique entries I've played.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:01am

Hello, This is GameGrape Gaming! Here at GameGrape Gaming we review games, more! We will do a run through of your game making sure you can see someone playing and enjoying your game but also letting you know what could be changed or whats awesome about your game.

Feel free to send as many as you want since we review all the games that are sent! All games will be video reviewed and the reviews will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter!

So what are you waiting for? Do you want people to see your game(s)? Do you want to watch people play your game? The time has come! What are you waiting for!

Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: https://goo.gl/StKpT9

If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): http://goo.gl/forms/WMMWfbKU5N

This game looks great and we can't wait to play! Good luck in the competition! :)

Rofeulus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:20am

The atmosphere of the game is really great! Good Experience and beautiful art. I just missed some clear and straight objective, but understand what you guys wanted.
Gratz, if you can, check my game too i would appreciate =D
Hero's War is the name

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:30am

very interesting - nice concept work - but not much of a game -- yet :)

RougeRogue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:37am

It's pretty cool but it would be a lot better if there was anything to do other than move around like plant trees or create animals to eat the plant-life.

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:43am

You don't really seem to do much in this game, but I quite like the effort you put into the procedural planet generation.

It works pretty much completely fine for me on Linux with WINE.

benjaml says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:53am

@Pietdagamer In fact the procedural planet generation took me a lot of time, i've done a lot of optimisation to have a decent frame rate :3 Thanks for trying it ^^

RhysD says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:18am

Didn't really know what I was doing. The atmosphere was cool and the music was amazing (did you guys compose it?)

However, I started feeling a bit sick after playing for awhile (not your fault!) so I had to stop :(

juaxix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:58pm

That ship should have a beacon or something like that :D
I like the idea and the implementation could be better but it works for this jam

adsilcott says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Too much pop up-- just kidding! This was mesmerizing and really cool!

Scandark says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Great graphics and good mechanics ! Smooth game :)

Simplest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Nice music, and the simple desing is pretty good :)

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Concept is good, I liked exploring and had fun.

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:24pm

I am not sure what I am supposed to do in this game (maybe it's supposed to be a walking simulator?), but I like the whole minimalistic abstract style, the growing procedural stuff, the atmosphere and general feel of this.

Christian S. says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:22pm

I like this kind of things :)

teeth says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:55am

I couldn't download the PC version, it said the file had been moved or deleted D:

Windywyll says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:31am

I was attacked by a mountain. 11/10 would play again.

TeamCalin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:25am

Fun game, exploring was nice and I really liked the music!

ezolotko says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:46am

beautiful

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]