Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Laser Jump FTW

by Crashmore Studios - Jam Entry

From the sleepdeprived minds of J. Romano, Chris A. and Richard Crashmore and the bloodpumping tunes of DJ Robertino comes a thrilling arcade shooter out of your wildest acid dreams.

But stay calm. All you have to do is shoot.

How hard can that be?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#134Fun(Jam)3.70
#268Humor(Jam)3.15
#279Overall(Jam)3.57
#280Innovation(Jam)3.46
#418Audio(Jam)3.19
#572Mood(Jam)3.15
#738Theme(Jam)3.41
#863Graphics(Jam)2.68

Comments

Gins says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:18pm

That was quite frantic, love the idea of shooting and movement being tied to the same mechanic. It's a bit easy to fool the game though, since all the enemies swarm towards you. You can just hover close to the ceiling and fire down in regular intervals ^^

Showing the tutorial right after you died the first time was really funny. More games should do that^^

pkenney says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:27pm

YES!! TOTAL VICTORY!!

---

pkenney's tips for beating Laser Jump FTW, to be read only after you've played a bit already:

Tip 1: The platform is not your friend. It is your own weakness. Tough up and get used to owning in the sky because otherwise you are doomed.

Tip 2: Immediately and always right click every time you play to zoom out. You need the info.

Tip 3: Remember those thousands of hours you logged playing Tribes video games where you fly around with a jetpack and shoot stuff?

Tip 4: Notice the linear non-accelerating nature of your falling. Notice the falloff in horizontal momentum. Relax! These gentle physics mean you don't need to stay in front of ever-escalating falling speeds nor do you have to counter-act any sideways motion you give yourself. You have more time to think than you might think.

Tip 5: It is critical that you actually aim at stuff WHILE shooting to control your movement. Sometimes you panic shoot to kill and don't control movement. And then you panic shoot to recover your position and don't kill stuff. And then you lose. The way to victory is multi-purpose shooting. As it should be.

Tip 6: Get up near the ceiling but not too close. Learn the rate at which you can fire without hitting the boundary. What is the steady state? Get the feel for shooting at a 45 angle, which allows you to move comfortably left/right while maintaining a relatively stable height and lets you shoot toward enemies.

Tip 6.5: Now that you are near the top and a sky warrior, let the enemies amass into a single blob and kite them left and right. Pass over the horde, carefully aim-steer-shooting to kill the top enemies while controlling your height and passing sideways over them. GOT IT? As long as you have your basics down you should only have real trouble from newly spawning enemies.

Tip 7: OH MY GOD THEY CHANGED ALL THE PHYSICS AND THE RULES EXACTLY COUNTER TO MY STRATEGY!$??

Tip 8: OK I'm'a leave this to you to figure out, but it can be done. I beat both modes. (It does not include standing on the platform, even though you'll want to all over again.)

Only change I would make is to add time survived to post-match screen. I agree w/ tutorial after death and not before, rather strongly in fact, but I also would like to see my score there.

The only other friction point was that early on while I was still acclimating I was surprised that I'd hit the ceiling when I thought I had it under control. My eyes weren't on my head, they were on my target, so it was just a feel thing. I kind of wished there was like a warning track like the baseball guys have that would maybe play some subtle yet not annoying audio cue that impact was imminent but while I still had time to react. I guess that this risks becoming super-repetitive and thus annoying, though.

Fantastic all-around package here, congrats to you and your team.

And sorry about your job, Rich.

Drury says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:58pm

This is more of a one-button game, that's my only complaint. Somewhat incredible, this.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:58pm

I first died 10 a couple of times instantly but I got the hang of it after. Hard, but doable. I would've liked a recharging blast for RMB or something as zooming out is always need anyway and doesn't need a button. And I'm afraid. Good one.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Oh god, the physics on Hairy difficulty! Too much physics. All the physics, all at once! D=

Took me ages but I made it! Got like 300+ on the first difficulty, before I headbutted the roof.

ddr2 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Playing with that recoil is just a superb idea. First game that gets me hooked enough in this jam to make me retry and want to get better at it.

After a couple of games, I am still not completely sold as I would have loved to be able to completely out-brain some of the ennemies just by movement, but they eventually still find you tracker-style which means that any dodging movements is actually useless: you HAVE to kill.

Anyway, great idea. graphics and audio could use a bit more work but the concept / gameplay just makes it fun so great job guys.

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:51pm

This was really fun! I didn't want to stop playing, but hairy difficulty was so hard :0 The music was good, I really like the mechanic! I don't think there's any reason to zoom in though =P

torcado194 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:02pm

i really like this concept! pretty fun, though gets boring kinda quick. also, this was more of a one button game than a two button game, the 'zoom' thing just felt shoehorned in (why would anyone want to zoom back in?? unless im missing something)
otherwise super cool!

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Very interesting idea, after playing for about 10 minutes I could not stop. Although the game is quite hard but fun at the same time.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:32pm

convenient controls

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:36pm

LOVED IT AND LAUGHED OUT LOUD. Yes, with caps.

Ancient_Pixel says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Using your gun as a jetpack? Check. Feeling Badass zapping dudes? Check. Nice atmosphere and sound? Check. Overall: Nice One!

Manu & Wan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:41pm

First I was "meh?", then I started to get the hang of it, and I started to see how glorious it was. Graphics are uneven, but the gamplay is fun, a kind of "Super Hexagon" fun.

Thank you for leading me through pain and epileptic seizures to an eventually satisfying victory.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Frantic and interesting to play. The enemy movements are a bit too random, which makes it sometimes really difficult, sometimes. easy.

EwChap says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Great entry. Amazingly fun and tuned for how simple it is. Simple but great. Enough typing, back to playing.

Mantlair says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Awesome Ill play this thing on my spare times to finish because now I have stuff to do.

Mantlair says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Also game crashes sometimes and its annoying really. B/

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Quite challenging! Enjoyed it alot. Only a bit of feedback I have is that it would be more fun if the safe-zone was a bit larger to make the game less punishing. Oh and a bit more juice! You can never have enough juice.

Well done.

monetai says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:26pm

wow, i loved that one, its super hard, but damn thats fun, and the ability to dezoom really improves the experience, nice work

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Neat idea! It turned out to be very enjoyable and addictive once I got the hang of it, good job!

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:23am

Almost got 5/5 for everything! Just balance a little bit so it's no so cruel and it will be a hit on the apple store!
PS: Reminded me of the Steam title Ubermosh

BlackBulletIV says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 2:22am

Brutally hard, but still fun and with a nice concept.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]