Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Parallax

by triello - Jam Entry

A plataformer with space/ misterious theme.
Collect powers ups to grow up and survive.

Art by Jun Kajii.
Music by Douglas Brantes.
Programmig by William Schütz.

Made for Ludum Dare 34 with theme Growing.

WASD or arrow to move.
Click ou Z to shoot.

##Stand Alone build better play in 1280 x 600##

Post jam version added to fix some IA and balancing issues. The musics are updated too.

If you like Parallax, follow it on gamejolt to get notified about game updates!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#212Audio(Jam)3.56
#343Graphics(Jam)3.75
#553Mood(Jam)3.17
#776Humor(Jam)2.11
#851Overall(Jam)2.94
#896Fun(Jam)2.64
#993Innovation(Jam)2.21
#1056Theme(Jam)2.43

Comments

Didi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Nice Graphics and Audio, I just don't get it with the theme. Nice work.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Love the atmosphere

fistmaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Game looks great! Good atmosphere and the controls are responsive if not a bit slow overall.

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Nice platformer with a limbo feel! Love the parallax scrolling effect and the feeling, but the enemy AI can be a bit annoying (ended up with an enemy on top of me xD). Would love to see this game being developed further, it has a lot of potential. Good work!

utoxin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Good job on the presentation of the game. Great graphics and sound, and reasonably good controls (although they feel slow on the left-right controls). I didn't get any sense of the theme, but it's good.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:55pm

The atmosphere is quite nice, I really like the way you mixed foreground and background elements. The controls are a little clunky and it is easy to get killed because of them. This honestly took out a lot of the fun out of the game.

Zeriver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Cool effects when you die or start game. Fun game, and it is really hard.
Solid entry ;)

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Good visuals and atmospheric music. The controls felt a bit heavy making it hard to avoid enemies, but a small bug helped there where I could climb up and stand on the sides of walls. :)

OwT says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:08pm

I really liked it. The graphics were good, the music was pleasant. The enemies were annoying sometimes, but this is nothing you can't get used to. Good job :)

PlasmaErnst says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Nice moody grafics and nice sound.
Sadly I didn't get far in the game. It was kinda hard to trick enemies cause they would react instantly to my positon. Overall an interesting experience and a good amount of content for the time. Keep it up!

mrStrings says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Music and mood is awesome. The problem I found is the same as the commentary above: the enemies reacted instantly so it was hard to get past them.

triello says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Thanks for the feedback, man. We'll work on it!

If you like our game, please follow it on gamejolt to get notified when the update came over!

modenv says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:19pm

I like the mood. The jump went crazy for me, and after a while it felt like the jumps happened randomly, regardless of my actions. The audio was fine, but i felt a gap between sfx and music... Overall a nice entry, but i'm also a little lost on the theme aspect...! :)

triello says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Post jam version published to fix some IA and balancing issues!

gv1351 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Good game

tobia88 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Nice graphics and audio, but not quiet comfortable in game experience, btw, well done!

VladRusu says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:06am

Cool atmosphere in this game. It's a bit too slow paced for me, but you did a good job overall!

puddelipip says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Nice mood, sound and graphics. I must say however that I got motion sickness from the heavy parallax effects and had to stop pretty quickly (granted I am hungover)

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Nice art

RevelBase says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Awesome! We enjoyed it alot :) But controls! controls!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Wooooow I really like the music on this.
Great mood too!
Awesome!

elizeu says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Nice graphics and audio!! A small problem with the collision. great work

anv says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Very nice style and atmoshpere. Gameplay wise, enemies tended to often to fall on my head killing me for my liking;)

pkenney says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:20pm

This game looks and sounds really slick! Congratulations on a nice level of polish and presentation.

I felt like something was off about the *feel* of the controls, and I found myself being surprised/frusrtated by the movements of the character. I see that other people are complaining about controls as well but not getting specific...

So here goes: I took some notes while I played, about various bugs and design issues with the controls and camera, I hope that you don't take the feedback poorly as it sounds negative... but I only include these because there's a lot of potential here if you can improve the gameplay feel just a bit!! If a game is just bad I do not leave feedback like this okay? Plz don't be offended.

Issue List:

- Can get stuck against wall by pushing into it, this felt especially bad when i missed a jump and was stuck against the wall, not going to fall and die as long as i hold the button, but no way out. Better if character slides down wall imo. In unity change the characters Physics2DMaterial to have friction = 0 and that will do it.

- Camera shift when i change facing left/right felt really severe, especially if i was moving right but wanted to just reposition slightly backwards, so i'd eat a double-shift very quickly, this didn't feel nice. better if camera shift is more gentle and starts after a short delay. You can implement this style of camera movement with a tween that has a nonlinear curve.

- Parallax foreground continues to scroll when i press walk key but am pushing against wall and thus not actually moving, seems like a bug

- Wished for another keyboard key to shoot besides Z, wanted one for my right hand. Used mouse which was okay though.

- Felt weird that I cannot double-jump on the rising portion of my jump but have to wait for the peak.

- Double-jump sometimes happens even if you don't press the button. To reproduce this, try jumping, hold down the jump button until almost the peak but not quite. Now let go. The character will keep going up, and then from the peak will do a double jump even though you didn't say to. You only pressed the button, and weren't still holding it at the peak, yet you still double jumped. This happened to me a LOT by accident.

- Also was surprised to jump again off ground after holding jump key too long in air.

- Also surprised to jump off pickups in the air, but did get used to this.

- Overall moving speed is too slow for my personal taste, I would prefer everything to move faster.

- Enemy AI is implemented to walk toward player on X axis. However this means when jumping over an enemy that it will follow and stay exactly underneath you so you land on its head. If this is intended as part of the challenge then okay, but I found it frustrating since player is not well equipped to deal with landing directly on top of an enemy.

- Slow pace combined with restarting from the beginning meant a lot of repetition

- When you go left the third enemy you encounter is short and totally blocked by the foreground fog. In post compo there are still several enemies hidden by the fog. Maybe intended, but felt unfair.

- Game makes me jump off the top of the screen when I go to the left, that's not great imo.

- Small platforms have hitboxes that extend underneath their graphics, so there is an invisible barrier. This barrier blocked my shots, and also sent me falling to my death from bumping my head unexpectedly.

Anyway, again this game is a nice package and that list of items is meant to be helpful food for thought and not a negative review.

I figured after that list I should get the post-comp version and try it, the addition of the jump sound is nice. It also fixed up the issue with the AI making you land on its head which is huge! Nice update.

The guitar music is pretty awesome and I love the game over screen's discordant version especially, nice work!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:04am

Nice entry! I like the atmopshere of that game. It just need some more polishing because the player physics is a bit weird (double jump should be double input, being stuck on a wall while jumping is strange,...) Appart from that, good job ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]