Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Slippy Santa

by brainybeard - Jam Entry

Slippy Santa is BrainyBeards Christmas game 2015.

Play as Santa, as he takes a tumble off of a roof, and starts snowballing across the Earth! Will you save him!?

Note: All graphics are made by us, other than the UI.

Controls: Move left and right using the left/right arrow keys.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#77Humor(Jam)3.78
#172Fun(Jam)3.63
#181Mood(Jam)3.67
#275Overall(Jam)3.58
#296Graphics(Jam)3.83
#319Theme(Jam)3.89
#868Innovation(Jam)2.58
#2115Coolness24%

Comments

refreshgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Well, that was rather jolly!

Nice to see the addition of a story to this game, that really helps to add a bit more to the game, I'd have loved to heard some "oofs" and "ouch" noises from the snowball santa as he plummets down the hill, that would have been the cherry on the top. Aside from that little niggle, an entertaining game, wrapped inside a cutesy story, with flamethrowers!

sergicollado says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Great music!

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:03am

this was a very refreshing game. the music was great, i made it to 456 after the game ended. i liked the graphic effects of the snow and clouds. the santa story made me laugh. it was very fun.

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:27am

A really nice Christmas-themed game. The graphics are really nice, too. When I saw the first statue I thought it was a trophy and fully crashed into it =)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:59am

Haha love the music, getting proper into the Christmas mood now. nicely implemented, liked the comic style story telling (flame-thrower reindeer are awesome). Great job.

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:30am

This is so christmasy :P I'm sorry, graphics are not the best but I liked the cylinder space, it fits well with tumbling down the mountain. I think you should go more innovative and up your graphics next time, keep up the good work :)

Taffaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Perfect Christmas game. Glad the reinderr caught Santa otherwise there would have been a lot of sad children.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Lovely graphics, good Christmas game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/BarqoQ2BpLQ

Alixibus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:13am

Awesome concept. Simple yet engaging gameplay with great soudtrack

krashja says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:36am

I like graphics, ho ho ho! Good job!

marveus says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:45am

It was a simple, but enjoyable game. The story also fit well and was just enough to give some humor.

I'm not sure if the difficulty increases over time or I just made that up. But it felt like it did and it felt like it increased at a really well tuned rate. I felt like I was slowly being more and more challenged at the right rate.

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Liked the mood! Nice!
Crashed at the house, thought it was my target :D

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:49pm

I a pretty well made game however the objects should also spread further apart as they get bigger when they approach you so that the gap between objects doesn't shrink.

Anachron says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:03am

Very fun, very festive! Made it to the endless mode, then difficulty ramped up nice. Awesome that there is a story, and I laughed at all the landmarks. Did I see the Arc de Triumphe? Would be funnier if the ball looked like Santa covered in snow, with sfx. Thought it was Katamari at first and steered right into a tree...

Xanjos says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:15pm

Pretty fun and interesting entry plus the story was rather nice.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]