Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Cherishing

by Cherishing.Team - Jam Entry

The Cherishing
===========

Your parents have locked you up in a tower in the hope that a valiant prince will come to save you. Save yourself from a loveless royal marriage by feeding the princes to the man eating plants and climbing out of the tower to freedom.

Controls
- Movement: Arrow keys
- Throw: Ctrl

Credits:
* art: Andrew ( @triplevisgames )
* music: Patrick ( @Fat_Bard )
* code: Karlos ( @solkar )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#148Humor(Jam)3.53
#160Audio(Jam)3.69
#388Graphics(Jam)3.68
#760Mood(Jam)2.89
#814Innovation(Jam)2.67
#906Fun(Jam)2.63
#915Theme(Jam)3.05
#938Overall(Jam)2.79
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

Riagan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:37am

Fyi. I tried a few times to get the throw to work... tried left and right ctrl and tried moving to the plant... Couldn't get past the first stage. However if the game is you just lose right away, that is equally funny. lol

alvaromartin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:51am

Hi guys, cool music, however when I lose the lost music overlaps with the main theme.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Hi

@Riagan: you have to kill the prince first to be able to throw

@alvaromartin: Just fixed that problems.

There's a big problem with the camera too. I've to fix it asap

BroCade says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Heads up guys (excuse the pun), to kill a prince you got to jump on his head.

I had a few crashes/glitches. On the first lvl when i jumped on the princes head it killed me at the same time and just ment i couldn't move, but throw infinite prince heads. Think you need to do some refining, but here could be a fun game in here.

Jerre says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Got stuck two times, sadly, because it looks very promising. First time I got stuck on the right pillar just after killing the prince. Second time I threw the head, but no clue what to do next. A restart button would've been nice, but it might be that I overlooked something.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:41pm

The game is really buggy. I can't get past the second level.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Music and graphics are very cool :D I have one issue, how do you enter to the exit door? I can't pass the first stage :/

Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Fun game once I read some comments about how to get the throw controls to work. The music was also awesome!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Sorry for all the bugs, I think sleep deprivation didn't help me work at all as coder. Thanks goodness, the art team was doing great.

I just fixed a major bug that made the exit door to stop working after you died once. That should help a lot.

I'll be woking this weekend to fix all major stuff :P

Xanjos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:56am

Game seems to crash if you die once, restart then die again and the game canvas could be a lot bigger but I like the rather hilarious concept of stomping heads off and feeding them to the plant.

andyman404 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Really fun concept of jumping on the princes, feeding their heads to the plant and growing a ladder! It kept crashing though - on my best try, I got as far as the second level before a crash took me out. Maybe release a desktop version - would help to eliminate any glitches on the part of Unity's glitchy new WebGL.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:15am

looks good but it keeps crashing - nice entry

Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:15am

What I could play before it crashed was pretty fun. I wish I could play more.

Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Good news everyone! I had some time and I could fix the biggest problem. You should be able to complete the 4 levels available.

Thanks for your patience guys ;P

Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Buggy as hell.
Head is difficult to throw and it disappears after the throw, so no retries without restarting the game.
Head doesn't get eaten by the plant, so you never know whether it caught the head or not.

Other than that, great humor, blend of graphics, music, sounds and gameplay could be oh so fun, if you only had some more time!
Good, if not extremely stable, entry!

Stending says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Nice entry! A bit buggy and it took me some time to get how it works, but I had a nice time after that!
Congratulations!

Conk says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Quite buggy, an ability to restart the level would be nice when it becomes impossible, art and music work really well!

Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:38pm

I have added a link to Postcompo version with major bugs fixed.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Well made, I think you can expand on the concept.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]